Maulsby Family History

Genealogy of the Maulsby Family for Five Generations 1699 -1902

[graphic][merged small]





To the memory of my Grandmother, Lucinda ( Maulsby ) Davis (70), whose love for me has been like a benediction over my life,

this book is affectionately dedicated.


This little volume was undertaken from a sense of duty, and although it has been a work lasting, all told, for more than three years, and crowded into an otherwise busy life, it has proven to be a very pleasant duty.

Lucinda (Maulsby) Davis (70), grandmother of the author, was very enthusiastic about having a genealogy of the Maulsby family written, that the family history should be preserved. She left at her death a package of letters which contained valuable material for the present work. This material has been used, although in almost every case, verified. Careful research has been made of the early Maulsby generations from both Quaker and government records. The result of the research has been gratifying. There is no obscure place in our history, the way by which we came being perfectly plain from the time when John and Mary Maulsby and little son Merchant, landed in Pennsylvania in 1699. An authentic family record, running back for over two hundred years, is something of which to be proud!

The Friends or Quakers arose, about 1650 in an age of great superstition, and corruption in both church and state. In their revolt at these, they determined to keep aloof from everything that savored of paganism. To this end they refused to use the names of days and months bestowed in honor of pagans or their idols. They used the numerals, first, second, third, and so on, for the days of the week and the months of the year. In Pennsylvania, founded by William Penn in 1682, the Quakers controlled legislation for many years, and sanctioned by law the numerical method of dating.

The following section is from “The great law or the body of laws of the Province of Pennsylvania and territories thereunto belonging, past at an assembly held at Chester (alias Upland), the 7th day of year 10th month, called December, 1682.”  “35. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid that the days of the Week and year months of the year shall be called as in Scripture & not by Heathen names (as are vulgarly used) as the first second and third days of year Week and first second and third months of year, and beginning with year day called Sunday and the Month called March.”

According to the English custom, the ecclesiastical, or legal year began March 25. The Quakers held to that method of dating so that dates in their records before 1752 are in old style. An act was passed in parliament in 1751 adopting the Gregorian calendar and making the following year begin with January first. The London and Philadelphia Quakers recognized the change of style, and began 1752 with January 1st as their first day of the first month. The dates in this book, before 1752 where the numerical method is used, are old style. The following calendars are given for those who wish to change old style (o. s.) into the modern method of dating:


Prior to 1752, the

year began

March 25th

March, 1st month
April, 2d month
May, 3d month
June, 4th month
July, 5th month
Aug. 6th month
Sept. 7th month
Oct. 8th month
Nov. 9th month
Dec. 10th month
Jan. 11th month
Feb. 12th month


The Year 1752

began with

January 1st

Jan. 1st month
Feb. 2d month
March, 3d month
April, 4th month
May, 5th month
June, 6th month
July, 7th month
Aug. 8th month
Sept. 9th month
Oct. 10th month
Nov. 11th month
Dec. 12th month

The Friends disdained all titles, claiming that all were equal in God’s sight, and that it was wrong for any one to feel superior or inferior to another. Even the titles, Mr., Mrs., and Miss, were not used by early Friends, and out of respect to the views held by our grandfathers and grandmothers on that subject, they are not used in the present volume.

Thanks are due, in the preparation of the work, to Thomas Morgan, Washington, D. C, to Gilbert Cope, genealogist, Westchester, Pa., to Ellwood Roberts, author and genealogist, Norristown, Pa., to Kirk Brown, genealogist, Baltimore, Md., to Priscilla Hackney, Guilford county, N. C., to John C. Jones (206), Lost Creek, Tenn., to the late Thomas Marshall, Economy, Ind., to J. Frank Mills, Dallas Center, Iowa, to William Mills (47), Martinsburg, Keokuk county, Iowa, to Matilda (Maulsby) Scott (77), Redfield, Iowa, to Margaret (Wright) Marshall (123), Richmond, Ind., to John Macy (160), Hagerstown, Ind., to Madison Thornburgh (174), Santa Maria, Cal., and to many others relatives and friends, who have aided in this Genealogy of the Maulsby Family.

Linden, Iowa, June 3, 1902.


1. JOHN MAULSBY married Mary.


(2) Merchant, born 1699, died probably 1785.

(3) David

(4) William, died about 1778

(5) John, born January 30, 1716, in the Plymouth Settlement

The ship “Bristol Merchant”, John Stephens, captain made a trip from England; to America in the fall of 1699. On board was William Penn coming for his last visit to America, with a company of English Friends coming to make homes in the New World. William Penn had removed to Bristol, in western England in 1697. His residence there and the name of the ship “Bristol Merchant”, would indicate that they sailed from Bristol, but nothing definite has been ascertained as to the place from which they embarked. Among the company were John and Mary Maulsby. They were young Quakers of English stock, recently married in England, probably in 1698. During the voyage a son was born to them, whom they named Merchant, for the ship in which they sailed, and in which he was born. The ship landed at Chester, Pennsylvania, November 30 or December 1, 1699. John Maulsby, wife Mary, and son Merchant, were the first of our Maulsby (spelled then Maultsby) family in America. John Maulsby bought a large tract of land about thirteen miles from Philadelphia, north and a little west of the city, in the Plymouth Settlement. On account of the growth of the city, the site of the old Maulsby homestead is now within six or seven miles of the Philadelphia limits.


The earliest settlers of Plymouth Settlement were from Plymouth, Devonshire, England, giving the name of their old home to the new. Francis Rawle and James Fox had purchased from William Penn, before their departure for America in 1686, a tract of land of 5,327 acres, practically the same as the present township of Plymouth, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. The deed given by William Penn years later, in 1701, is still preserved. In it the following boundaries are given for the township: “Beginning at the birch tree standing by the River Skuylkill being a corner dividing it from the land first laid out to Major Jasper farmer extending from thence by an old line of marked trees northeast twelve hundred and ninety-six perches to a corner marked White oak standing in the line of Whitpain’s Township from thence by an old line of marked trees northwest seven hundred and ninety-two perches to a corner marked hickory dividing this from the reputed land of Benjamin Chambers from thence by an old line of marked trees southwest eight hundred and forty perches to a corner marked hickory standing by the said River Skuylkill by the several courses thereof to the first mentioned birch tree containing five thousand three hundred and twenty-seven acres and seventy-nine perches of land.” (Taken from “Plymouth Meeting” by Ellwood Roberts.) This deed was given to enable the owners the better to assure a title to purchasers from them. After living there for several years and making improvements the owners became dissatisfied with their isolated life in the woods and moved into Philadelphia. Some time afterwards they sold large tracts of land to different purchasers, David Meredith, Thomas Owen, Isaac Price, and others from Wales, and John Maulsby from England, all Quakers, being among the early purchasers. Ezra Michener, in his “Retrospect of Early Quakerism” says: “James Fox and other friends settled about Plymouth in the year 1685 (?) and held meetings at Fox’s house. But they soon after removed from the place, and were succeeded by David Meredith and several friends, who attended Merion meeting.” The first settlement, however, was not before 1686.

David Meredith bought 980 acres of land, and built a three story house which is still standing, although over two hundred years old. John Maulsby bought his tract of land near what is now known as Cold Point, east and less than a half mile from Plymouth Meeting House.


(Prom Ellwood Roberts’ “Plymouth Meeting)

The old Maulsby mansion, a little over one-half mile from the Meeting House, was a very substantial colonial house. It was torn down about thirty years ago, a lime stone quarry near having caved in and undermined its foundations. In this home John and Mary Maulsby reared their children, lived their lives, and died. The site of the home is a very picturesque spot, “the range of high hills, part of the Edge Hill or South Valley range, jutting sharply out into the plain and forming a land mark that can be seen for miles.” Part of the original tract of land ‘is owned by John Maulsby’s descendants, the Corsons. Anyone wishing to visit the site of the old Maulsby home can take the Chestnut Hill trolley car line in Philadelphia —this line passes Plymouth Meeting House on the way to Norristown. Or the trip can be made by rail to ^Norristown, and then three miles south, to the Meeting House, on the trolley car.

John Maulsby was a yeoman or farmer. Plymouth township was the finest kind of woodland, timbered heavily with white oak, the soil underlaid with lime stone. When cleared of timber it was, and is today, a rich farming country. The township is now dotted with villages, a village and post office near Plymouth Meeting House being called “Plymouth Meeting.” The products of the pioneer days were corn, wheat, rye, buckwheat, potatoes.

The deed, of which a fac-simile is given, is from John and Mary Maultsby to John Davies for fifty acres of the original tract bought in Plymouth. The price, forty pounds for fifty acres, is in striking contrast to the price of land in that township now—one hundred to three hundred dollars per acre. The deed, which has never been recorded, is written on parchment, and is especially valuable on account of the signatures of John and Mary Maulsby as grantors, and of Merchant and William Maulsby, twenty-seven years later, as witnesses remembering the signing of the deed by their parents.

The very early Friends of Plymouth Settlement held their meetings at the house of James Fox, later in the same house, then in possession of Hugh Jones. Later still at the house of David Meredith, the room in which meetings were held having undergone very little change. Formerly a partition extended across the room, dividing it into the men’s and women’s rooms. The partition swung on rude hinges, so the rooms could be thrown together when desired. Plymouth Meeting House was built about 1710 near the burying ground, where the dead had been buried since the starting of the settlement. John and Mary Maulsby were buried in the old portion of the burying ground, without monument to mark the resting place, as was customary with Friends at that time.

It is thought the Meeting House was built by the voluntary labor and contribution of material, as no reference is made to payment of bills in the Monthly Meeting Records. The original structure remains, although it has undergone alterations. It is the part nearest the old part of the burying ground.

Some time after, an addition called the “school end” of the meeting house was built for school purposes, Friends school being held there for several years. The Philadelphia Yearling Meeting recommended Friends in the disposition of their property, to make provision for educating the young. The history of the Society of Friends in this country shows careful provision always for the maintenance of schools. Plymouth was essentially the same as later settlements where the older Maulsbys lived, a company of Friends living together with many interests in common— always a grave yard, a meeting, a school.

Plymouth school was well attended, boys especially coming from a distance on horseback. The old Meeting House, as in the frontispiece, stands essentially the same today. In 1867 it was partially destroyed by fire, but was rebuilt, the old walls being used. The two small porches have been replaced by one deep porch extending across the front of the building. Plymouth Friends still hold meetings there. It is said that the place is singularly quiet and restful—the old Meeting House, with the old trees throwing their shadows upon it, the burying ground near, hallowed by the precious dead of two hundred years.

In 1714 Plymouth and Gwynedd were organized into one meeting, known ever since as Gwynfdd Monthly Meeting, the Monthly Meetings being held alternately between Plymouth and Gwynedd. The Norristown Friends belong with them, and although having a separate meeting for worship, bury their dead in the Plymouth burying ground.

Among the early ministers at Plymouth were Ellis Pugh, Welsh, Rowland, Ellis, Welsh, and William Trotter. It was probably to their preaching more than to any others that John Maulsby, wife Mary and their sons listened. Gwynedd Meeting gave testimonials of these ministers’ lives and ministry. The following memorial to William Trotter will be interesting from its quaint style, as well as from the fact that he knew and was known of our people:

Our friend, William Trotter, late of Plymouth, in the county of Philadelphia, son of William Trotter, was born in the fourth month, 1095, of religious parents and was educated amongst Friends.  As he grew in years, he was blessed in that he grew in grace, and in the fear and knowledge of our blessed Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

About the twenty-first year of his age, he received a gift in the ministry, in which he was frequently exercised during the course of his life. His ministry was sound and savory, and attended with a remarkably good degree of that life and power, ‘By which the dead are raised, and without which all preaching is vain.’

He was not tedious or burdensome but often very reaching and edifying to his hearers. In his life and conversation he was grave, yet innocently cheerful, and strictly just in his dealings, also a lover and promoter of peace, unity, and brotherly love amongst friends of which himself was a good pattern.

He was generally beloved during his life, and at his death left a good savior. His removal from time to a happy eternity, though certainly his greatest gain, was a considerable loss to the meeting where he belonged.

He departed this life on the nineteenth of the Tenth month, 1749, aged about fifty-three years and six months, and was interred on the twenty-first of the same month in Friends’ burying ground at Plymouth; and we believe is gone from his laborious service to receive a heavenly reward of peace where the ‘wicked cease from troubling, and the weary are at rest.

(Taken from “Plymouth Meeting” by Ellwood Roberts.)The account of Plymouth Settlement is gleaned from “Plymouth Meeting,” supplemented by personal help sent by Ellwood Roberts of Norristown, Pa.

It is certainly with pardonable pride that we pause to pay a tribute of respect to John and Mary Maulsby, founders of the Maulsby family in America. Exhaustive research failed to give a detailed account of their lives, but enough was found to give a clear insight into their characters. The very fact of them being Quakers, when Quakerism in England meant disgrace and persecution, showed that both had courage to stand by their convictions. Mary’s heroism in starting, when in delicate health, on what was then a perilous voyage across the Atlantic, showed her worthy to be the mother of a great family, who should rise up to call her blessed! That the moral character and financial standing of both was above reproach, is evidenced by them belonging to the Society of Friends, for that early church looked after the finances as well as the morals of its members. The buying of the large tract of land in Plymouth Settlement shows that John Maulsby had brought something from the Old World to start life in the New. He was a man among men, an honored member of the early Plymouth Settlement. His descendants to the eighth and ninth generations carry with them the same business integrity. The writer has yet to learn of the first person bearing his name, or carrying a drop of Maulsby blood in his veins, who has asked for charity!

All honor to John and Mary Maulsby, who by their courage founded a home, where their children and children’s children could have the priceless heritage of freedom of conscience in religion and freedom from class barriers in social life—where “all men are created equal,” and each is free to follow the call of duty or the beckon of ambition, and make of his life what he wills.


A probable list of children, but not proven beyond doubt.

(a) William

(b) Merchant, 1737 (This is reliable.)

(c) John

(d) Morris

(e) Mary (Maulsby) Steam

(f) Sarah Maulsby

Merchant (spelled also Marchant) Maulsby, born on the voyage to America, 1699, probably passed his life in and near the Plymouth Settlement. In 1733 he was a witness to his brother William’s marriage at Plymouth; in 1734 he lived in White Marsh township, which joins Plymouth; in 1748 he was a witness as having seen the signing of a deed given by his parents in 1721. John Ax, of Germantown, Philadelphia county, appointed Merchant Maulsby, Senior, as executor of his will June 1, 1758.

The will of Merchant Maulsby, of Roxborough township (now a part of Philadelphia), carpenter, is dated April 25, 1785 ; proved December 1, 1785. Mentions children John, Morris, Mary Steam and Sarah Maulsby; grandchildren William and Samuel Maulsby, Elizabeth Freese and Isabella Steam; appoints son Morris Maulsby and Anthony Cook executors. There seems no doubt that the Merchant Maulsby of this will, proved December 1, 1785, was the Merchant born 1699. His son Merchant died years before; the mention of the grandchildren Samuel and Elizabeth, who were children of Merchant Maulsby (b) would be almost positive proof. Merchant Maulsby’s (b) descendants who are in Plymouth and vicinity are people held in great esteem.

William Maulsby (a) and Hannah Coulton were married March 16, 1756, at the Swede’s church, Philadelphia. The will of William Maulsby, of Philadelphia, innkeeper, dated November 29, 1775; proved December 15, 1775, mentioned wife Hannah and children Barnaby, William and Ebenezer Maulsby; appointed brother Morris Maulsby executor.

Merchant Maulsby (b) married Hannah Davis, daughter of Samuel and Jane (Rees) Davis, November, 1766. Jane (Rees) Davis was a sister of Rose Rees who married William Maulsby (4). Merchant and Hannah Maulsby had two children, Samuel (g) and Elizabeth (h). Merchant Maulsby (b) was rebuked by the Friends’ Meeting in 1780 for taking the oath of allegiance to the United States and paying a military tax. After Merchant’s death, which must have occurred about 1780, his widow married David Marple. David Marple, of Horsham township, wheelwright, in will dated July 18, 1871, mentions wife Hannah and step-children Samuel and Elizabeth Maulsby. After David Marple’s death, Hannah married a Corson, there being two children of the last marriage, Dr. Richard Corson of New Hope, who married Helen Jackson and Hannah Corson, who married John Bye.

Samuel Maulsby (g) married in 1799 (one hundred years from the birth of his grandfather), Susan Thomas, daughter of Jonathan and Alice Thomas. Their children were Hannah (i), who married Charles Jarret and left family of children and grandchildren; Jonathan (j), who married but left no children; Alice T. (k), who married Josiah Albertson and left a family of children and grandchildren; Merchant (1), who married Rachel Edwards and left daughters; Martha T. (m), who married George Corson leaving a large family; George (n), who married M. Sovett and left no children, and Ellwood (o) who died unmarried. Of Samuel’s (g) descendants not one bears the Maulsby name.

3. DAVID MAULSBY married Mary Langshorne in 1744. Descendants unknown to writer.

Mary Langshorne’s story is romantic. She ran away from her home at St. Bride’s, Wales; took passage on a steamer sailing for America; landed in Philadelphia and was cared for in the Lloyd home. Her parents in Wales hearing of her whereabouts implored her to return, but she refused to do so and in a short time was married to David Maulsby (3). David and Mary Maulsby were witnesses to the will of John Lidyard of Morel and township, Philadelphia county, April 5, 1748-9.

4. WILLIAM MAULSBY married Rose Rees.


(6) John married Lydia John, died 1809.

(7) David.

(8) William.

(9) Benjamin.

(10) Hannah married Moses Frazier.

(11) Elenor married –

William Mausby (4) was probably born and reared in the Maulsby home in Plymouth. The following account of his marriage is taken from the Plymouth Meeting records: “2d mo., 19, 1733, William Maulsby of Plymouth, Philadelphia county, and Rose Rees, daughter of John, of the same place. At a public meeting in Plymouth. Witnesses Merchant and David Maulsby, John, Hannah, Edward, Ellin, Jane and Hannah Rees, Jr., Joseph and Sarah Williams,” and eight others. In the Quaker records, and in all civil records, except the old deed given by John “Maultsby” and Mary “Maultsby” and witnessed by Marchant “Maulstby” and William “Maltsby,” the family name is spelled M-a-u-1-s-b-y. It is said to have been not uncommon, at that time, for sons to spell the name differently from the parents. It was, however, at an early date that the name became settled in its present form.

In 1734 William Maulsby owned 200 acres of land in Limerick township, Philadelphia (now Montgomery) county, Pa. Everything indicates that William was a farmer and that after his marriage the family lived in or near Plymouth for thirty-six years. In 1769 they moved into York county, Pa., their home being in the part of Newberry township, which is now Fairview township, the most northern part of York county.

At Warrington Monthly Meeting, York county, Pa,, 7 mo. 8, 1709: “William Maulsby and wife, Rose, with two children, Benjamin and Elenor, produced a certificate from Gwynedd Monthly Meeting, Philadelphia Co., dated 5-30-1769.” Plymouth and Gwynedd were united into the Gwynedd Monthly Meeting, so that the certificate was given from Gwynedd Monthly Meeting instead of from Plymouth.

At Warrington Monthly Meeting, York county, Pa., 7 mo. 8, 1775: “Some friends Living a considerable distance from Newberry Meeting requests to have the Liberty of holding week day meetings, which is left under Consideration till next meeting.” (Men’s minutes.) “The friends living near Yellow Britches (creek) requests to be indulged with holding a week day meeting at the House of William Maulsby which is left under consideration until next meeting.” (Women’s minutes.) At the next Monthly Meeting a committee was appointed by the men’s meeting and one by the women’s meeting to consider holding a meeting at William Maulsby’s and “report their sense to next meeting.”

9-9-1775, the committees both reported favorable and “nothing appearing to object against their request they are allowed to hold a meeting on fifth day in each week Except the week of Newbury preparative meeting.” In order to strengen and encourage them a committee from the men’s and one from the women’s meeting was appointed “to sit with them at times as they may find their way opened so to do.”

11-9-1776 “Newbury Meeting informs this that the Friends that are Indulged with the holding a week day meeting now requests Liberty to hold a first day Meeting at the same place during the winter season.” It was decided to hold first day meetings at the house of William Maulsby and “Friends are desired to be thoughtful of them, and when way opens in the love of Truth to attend that Meeting. William’s death occurred before the next record of meetings held at his home.

1-9-1779, “The Committee appointed by a former Meeting to have care of the Meeting at the late Dwelling place of William Maulsby, Deceased, are desired to attend that Meeting and report their sense thereof unto next Meeting.” The meetings continued at the widow Maulsby’s for more than a year. 3-11-1780. “Newberry Meeting Informs this that the Friends of the little Meeting held ■ at the widow Maulsby’s requests to have the Liberty of meeting at the House of Samuel John, it not being convenient for some reasons to meet at the former place much longer; which being considered in this meeting is concurred with.”

5-10-1779, William Maulsby having desired in his will that guardians be appointed for his son Benjamin as he was not capable of acting for himself; Ellis Lewis and Edward Jones were appointed guardians for him.

2-11-1786, Rose Maulsby requests a certificate to Gunpowder for self and son Benjamin. It seems that the certificate was delayed until the estate was settled, as the early Friends looked after the financial as well as the spiritual welfare of their members. Two months after her application for a certificate she had removed within the limits of the Gunpowder Monthly Meeting, that Meeting being in Maryland about fifteen miles northeast of Baltimore. At Warrington Monthly Meeting, 11-10-1787, Friends of Gunpowder inform that Rose Maulsby and her son Benjamin now live on land purchased by William Maulsby, who has not a title, as the purchase money is not all paid. The letter from Gunpowder says: “We have therefore in behalf of Benjamin taken William Maulsby’s Bond of conveyance for as much Land at three pounds five shillings pr acre as amounts to the sum stated in your last letter, including the buildings, orchard, meadow Ground and a proportionable part of the Timber Land” which if satisfactory an early answer is desired, “that Rose may obtain a certificate, as she seems desirous to sit meetings of business.” Rose and son received their certificate 1-12-1788. This certificate was received at Gunpowder Monthly Meeting held at Little Falls, Harford county, Md., the 29th of 3rd month, 1788. Xo account of a certificate given to Rose Maulsby or son Benjamin, is found in the Gunpowder records, so it is probable that they died in Harford county, Maryland.



The Rees family was probably from Radnorshire, Wales, as the certificate of David Meredith given by a Friends meeting there, “att or men’s meeting ye 20th Day of ye 5th mo., 1683,” has Rees ap Rees (the son of Rees) as one of the signatures. Rose Maulsby’s parents, John Rees, yeoman, and his wife Hannah, were Welsh people, who settled first in Radnor township, Chester county called “Radnor in the Welsh tract,” but later moved to the Plymouth settlement. In 1723 John Rees was a witness to David Meredith’s will at Plymouth. After that he was spoken of as from Plymouth or Whitpain (an adjoining township) so that from 1723 or earlier, he and his wife probably made their home in or near the Plymouth settlement. In the copy at hand, of the records of Plymouth Meeting, Hannah’s name appears for the last time in 1745, as a witness to her daughter Hannah’s marriage; John’s name is seen once more, in 1746, as a witness to his son John’s marriage. But years later, 11 mo. 2, 1753, in a will, Hannah Rees of Whitpain township, mentions her daughter Rose Maulsby.



(1) Edward married Elizabeth Oliver (?) 11th mo. 17, 1726-27

(2) Rose married William Maulsby 2d mo. 19, 1733

(3) Ellin married Abraham Roads, 7th mo. 19, 1733

(4) Jane married Samuel Davis 3rd mo. 24, 1736

(5) Hannah married John Bell 3rd mo. 14, 1745

(6) John married Catherine Evans, 9th mo. 11, 1746

To understand the Welsh settlers, let us look a moment at Welsh history in the mother country. The people of Wales were descendants’ of the Britons, who retired into the remote portion of the island, rather than be subject to the conquerors of Britian. These refugees mingled later with the English but did not wholly lose their individuality. They were independent, self-reliant, courageous and thrifty, with.a love of their ancient valor kept alive by their bards. When George Fox and John ap John traveled through the principality, preaching the new gospel of Quakerism—the Inner Light which shone in each soul for its guidance; the Still Voice that spoke to each; the Kingdom of Heaven within you— they found a people especially fitted to receive it. Fitted by their self-reliance to understand the “Inner Light” and the “Still Voice,” and by their courage to accept that religion, although accompanied with persecutions: When William Penn offered them homes in Pennsylvania, where they might worship God according to the dictates of conscience, unmolested, many accepted the offer gladly. They were his trusted friends and helped very materially in building up his state. In a letter from England, Fourth month 14, 1691, he said, “Salute me to the Welsh Friends and the Plymouth Friends, indeed to all of them.” (Account of Rees family gathered from “Plymouth Meeting” by Ellwood Roberts.)


5. JOHN MAULSBY married and had children as shown by Gwynedd records.

As the scope of this Genealogy is too limited to trace in detail the history of the descendants of William Maulsby’s (4) brothers, Merchant (2), David (3) and John (5), we must in this generation bid them adieu.




6. JOHN MAULSBY married Lydia John.


(12) Joseph, 1867; about 1769

(13) Susannah, April 13, 1769; December 24, 1861

(14) Ann, November 22, 1771; October 15, 1867

(15) William, June 25, 1774; —, 1806

(16) Sarah, December 20, 1776; November 28, 1842

(17) Elenor, August 8, 1779; June 15, 1804

(18) John, April 8, 1781; April 22, 1860

(19) Lydia, February 19, 1784; May 6, 1864

(20) Ebenezer (David), January 1, 1788; September 14, 1838

John Maulsby was born in Pennsylvania probably in or near the Plymouth Settlement. John Maulsby, son of William Maulsby of Limerick, Philadelphia county, was married to Lydia John, daughter of Samuel John of East Nantmel, 21st of 5th mo. 1.766, at Nantmel Meeting. Nantmel Meeting House was west of Plymouth, perhaps ten miles, in East Nantmel township, Chester county; the meeting there being a branch of the Lwchlan Monthly Meeting in the adjoining township of Uwchlan. The Nantmel Meeting House has disappeared.

John Maulsby was a farmer. At Warrington Monthly Meeting, York county, Pa., 7 mo. 8, 1769, John Maulsby produced a certificate from Gwynedd, dated 5-30-1769, for himself, wife and son Joseph. The date of this certificate and the date when received at Warrington are exactly the same as the dates of the certificate of William Maulsby (2) wife Rose and the children Benjamin and Elenor, so it is probable that the two families moved together to York county. Both had their membership in the Newbury (or Newberry) Meeting, which was a branch of Warrington Monthly Meeting. John Maulsby and family lived in York county for eight years. Susannah was a baby when their certificate was received at Warrington. Joseph died there and into the home was born Ann, William and Sarah. 5-10-1777 John Maulsby, wife Lydia and four children, received a certificate from Warrington to Gunpowder Monthly Meeting, Maryland. Gunpowder was a little east of south, about fifty miles from their home in York county. They doubtless went by what was known as the Baltimore and York road, which in the early days was the great route for farmers from York to Baltimore.


From the minutes of Gunpowder Monthly Meeting, situated in Baltimore county, Maryland, “at our Monthly Meeting held at Gunpowder, the 20th day of the 6th month 1777, John Maulsby attended this meeting with a certificate from Warrington Monthly Meeting, Dated the 10th Day of the 5th mo. 1777, Recommending himself and his wife Lydia and four children, Susanna, Ann, William and Sarah members of our Religious society, which is by this meeting received.” In 1779 the Little Falls Preparative Meeting (Harford county) chose John Maulsby as Overseer, this serving to show that John Maulsby lived in Harford county, where many others of the family lived. Before following John Maulsby further, let us look a moment at the account of his brothers and sisters as found in the Warrington and Gunpowder records.

DAVID (7), There was a David Maulsby received into membership at Gunpowder in 1773, afterward married a Reese, but cannot be identified positively as William’s (2) son.

WILLIAM (8) produced a certificate from Gwynedd dated 7-25-1769, to Warrington. In 1774 he was complained of by Warrington for marriage by a priest (minister) to one not a member. He offered an acknowledgment which was accepted. 8-131785 a certificate was given from Warrington to Gunpowder to William Maulsby, wife Ann and children William, John and Jane.


BENJAMIN (9) was spoken of in connection with his mother.

HANNAH (10) carried Her certificate from Gwynedd dated 5-29-1770, to Warrington 8-11-1770. Hannah and Moses Frazier complained of for marriage by a priest 1771. They were disowned.

ELENOR (11) received her certificate from Warrington dated 5-7-1791, to Gunpowder. She had been living at Little Falls, going there in 1786. Elenor was present at Gunpowder Monthly Meeting held in Baltimore, 30th of 7th mo. 1791, her certificate being read and received. She was married in 1792. There were other Maulsbys than William’s family in Maryland. They are recorded in Gunpowder, Deer creek, Little Falls, Baltimore, Hopewell and Deer Creek Monthly Meetings. The descendants of these early Maulsbys are quite numerous in Baltimore and vicinity and to the west.

John Maulsby (6) lived in Maryland about nine years, the children Elenor, John and Lydia being born there. 24th of 6th month, 1786, at the Gunpowder Monthly Meeting held at Little Falls, ”Little Falls Preparative Meeting informs that John Maulsby requests a certificate for himself, Lydia his wife, and their seven children, Susanna, Ann, William, Sarah, Elenor, John and Lydia.” The family moved to Virginia 1786-7, the certificate which was produced 30th of 6th month, 1787, being forwarded to them. Hopewell Monthly Meeting was in Frederick county, about ten miles north of Winchester. John Maulsby lived south of Hopewell in the locality of the Back Creek Meeting. “At Hopewell Monthly Meeting held the 5th of 11th month, 1787, a certificate for John Maulsby and Lydia, his wife, and their children, Susanna, Ann, William, Sarah, Elenor, John and Lydia, from Gunpowder Monthly Meeting, in Maryland, dated the 30th of 6th month, 1787, which was read and accepted.”

“7th of the 9th month, 1789, Back Creek Preparative Meeting informs that John Maulsby requests a certificate for himself, wife and children to New Garden Monthly Meeting in Guilford county, North Carolina.” “5th of 10th month, 1789. The Friends appointed to provide a certificate for John Maulsby, Lydia, his wife and seven children, Ann, William, Sarah, Elenor, John, Lydia and Ebenezer, produced one which was read, approved and signed.” The family lived south of Hopewell for two or three years. The youngest child Ebenezer was born there. As he grew older, Ebenezer, not liking his name, named himself David, by which name he will be known in this book. Susannah was married in Virginia and did not go with the family. Although their certificate was to New Garden, N. C., the New Garden, Guilford county records fail to record their arrival. They may have changed their plan, and like many other emigrants of that time pushed on to the west in the hope of getting away from slavery. Or they may have gone directly to Lost Creek, as the territory of the New Garden Monthly Meeting included eastern Tennessee. They arrived at Lost Creek, Tennessee, some time in 1789. This was, for John and Lydia, their last move; after their wanderings here was home. They were useful and honored members in the new settlement and when life’s work was over they were laid in the Lost Creek burying ground, where the cedar trees keep vigil.


Lost Creek, the central valley of East Tennessee, lies between the French Broad and Holston rivers. A creek fed by springs, running through the valley westward, sinks and runs under Mahony hill, coming to the surface again near the Holston river, of which it is a tributary. This peculiarity of the creek gives the name Lost Creek to the creek and valley. To the north, the Clinch mountain range is visible; to the south Bay’s mountain range, Bluff mountains, and then a mass of peaks and ridges thrown up in wild confusion. The scenery is grand, the climate healthful. John Mills (father of William Mills whom Sarah Maulsby married) moved from North Carolina into the valley of Lost Creek abouit 1784, when it was a wilderness with only one cabin to the west—it was then known as Greene county, N. C. The family moved in wagons, taking horses, cows and farm machinery. Earlier emigrants crossing the mountains had traveled on pack horses, along trails. The family followed the “Wilderness” route, the road along which, probably every one of the families from Guilford county, if. C2 passed en route to Lost Creek. Starting at Greensborough—west to Winston—up the river valley to Mt. Airy —across the Blue Ridge mountains and New River to Abingdon, Va., southwest into Tennessee where Bristol now stands—a winding route through the mountainous country near the source of the Holston river—past the site of Elizabethton, to Jonesboro—to Greenville—through Bull’s Gap in the mountains—to Morristown —to Mossy Creek—and then to Lost Creek. William Mills, then a lad of fifteen, in telling of this trip to a grandson, said that when they came down the Blue Ridge, the incline was so steep that they locked both hind wagon wheels and chained a tree with branches on to the back of the wagon, to help hold back and break the severity of the shock when the wagon struck the bottom. There was a settlement of Friends a few miles north of Jonesboro, and another, called New Hope, eight or nine miles east of Greenville.

John Mills left part of his family at the Greene county settlement in the present Greene county, and taking the older boys with him, built a cabin about one and a half miles east of the place where Lost Creek sinks under Mahony hill, over two miles from the point where the creek joins the Holston river. They cleared ten acres and planted a crop. William was cook, washer and supplied them with wild game. Later, the rest of the family went to the new home, and others with them who settled there. There was no road to the west and none to the north. John Maulsby moved there in 178!), buying land west of John Mills; Henry and Rachel Thornburgh with their younger children about the same time. Barachiah Macy and family in 1802, Charles Osborn and Elihu Swain at an early date, all three buying land close to John Mills’ on the west. Isaac Hammer owned the farm where the creek sinks. Thomas and Ann Marshall and children from North Carolina were among the early settlers. In building cabins, puncheon floors were used, the planks used in building and for tables and cupboards being sawed with a whip-saw. Farm products of that time were corn, oats, wheat, buckwheat, pumpkins, garden vegetables, flax and cotton. The nearest post office was Greenville, sixty miles away—today there is rural free delivery in the same neighborhood.

This being a Quaker settlement one would expect among the first things, the establishment of a Meeting and a school. John Maulsby’s family, like many other settlers at Lost Creek, were recorded as members of New Hope Monthly Meeting in Greene county, organized 1795, the first Monthly Meeting in Tennessee. The New Hope records have been found, but give no account of the acceptance of certificates of the Lost Creek settlers. New Hope Meeting belonged to the New Garden, N. C, Meeting. It is probable that the Mills, Maulsby, Thornburgh, Mendenhall, Marshall and other families of Lost Creek, were among those who requested New Hope Meeting, and were claimed as organizing members, and not accepted by certificate. A complaint, coming from New Hope, against William Maulsby (15) for dancing, gives the clue that John Maulsby’s family membership was there. Friends at Lost Creek held their first meetings at John Mill’s log cabin, later in his new hewed log house, which is still standing. John Mills gave the Friends land south of his house for a grave yard and a lot for the Meeting House and school house. A hewed log Meeting House about 30×40, was built 1790-95. The shingles of the roof were put on with wooden pins, the holes for the pins being bored with a brace and bit. The lathing was split out and the planks sawed with a whipsaw. It was soon enlarged by the addition of another part the size of the first. This church stood until the close of the Civil War when it was replaced by a painted wooden building.

For nearly fifty years there has been a village, Friends’ Station, near the church.

The Quaker Meeting House at Lost Creek as it is today.

Lost Creek Monthly Meeting was opened May 20, 1797. (There had been Preparative meeting before.) Nathan and Jacob Hunt of North Carolina attended the opening of the meeting. Isaac Jones and Israel Elliot produced certificates of membership from Center Meeting, N. C. Henry Thornburgh and Richard Hayworth were appointed representatives to the Quarterly Meeting. Abraham Woodward was the first clerk.

(From the minutes of the first Monthly Meeting at Lost Creek.) The following are a few family records taken from the old Lost Creek records.



Ira (married Phebe Macy)






Charles Osborn’s second wife was Hannah Swain, but there is no record of their children. Charles Osborn, the noted Quaker preacher, was born in North Carolina 1775. He traveled extensively, visiting Quaker meetings in the United States, England and Europe. He died in 1850.













Elisha (the preacher)



Isaac Hammer’s second wife was Hannah Mills, daughter of Aaron Mills. Their children were:








William Williams, Elisha Hammer, Isaac Hammer, Charles Osborn, Isaac Jones, John C. Jones (206) and Rachel (Pickering) Jones are all recorded ministers from the Lost Creek Monthly Meeting.



The meeting house at Lost Creek was used for the school until a school house was built, about 1800. The school house was on the lot with the meeting house, both facing the south. The school house, which is still standing, although moved from the original site, was about 20×25 feet, made of hewed pine logs, with foui’ small windows. A big fire place was at the west end. The benches without backs, were made of slabs. The writing table, about three feet wide, extended along the north side of the room. William Morgan and Charles Osborn were prominent early teachers. The New Testament was used as a reading book. The American Spelling Book was used and spelling considered a very important part of instruction. “Fowler’s Arithmetic” and Writing completed the course of study. Sarah (16), Elenor (17), John (18), Lydia (19) and David Maulsby (20) attended school at Lost Creek. All of Ann’s children, all of William’s, all of Sarah’s, Elenor’s son, two of John’s children Nancy and Lemuel, and two of David’s children William and Lucinda, went to school in the old log school house. The old building as given in the picture is changed from the original by the addition of the porch, and the re-building of the first chimney by a later one.

The first modern abolition society was the Tennessee Manumission Society, organized at the Lost Creek Meeting House January 25, 1815. The eight charter members were Charles Osborn, John Canaday, John Swain, John Underhill, Jesse Willis, David Maulsby, Elihu Swain and Thomas Morgan. In a preamble they extoled the constitution and government and claimed that it was the duty of the free sons of Columbia to secure these blessings to the colored people. Thy adopted the following constitution.

“1. Each member to have an advertisement in the most conspicuous part of his house in the following words, viz.: ‘Freedom is the natural right of all men; I therefore acknowledge myself a member of the Tennessee Society for Promoting the Manumission of Slaves.’

“2. That no member vote for Governor or any legislator, unless we believe him to be in favor of emancipation.

“3. Provides for officers and the meeting of the society.

“4. The requisite qualifications of our members are true republican principles, patriotic and in favor of emancipation; and that no immoral character be admitted into the society as a member.”

Branches of this society were established in other parts of Tennessee and in North Carolina. (Gathered from an article written by Charles W. Osborn, Economy, Ind.)

In front of the Lost Creek meeting house, to the south, is the grave yard, in a grove of cedar trees. The graves are marked by blocks of rough sandstone, very few of the stones being lettered. Plain, but with no suggestion of poverty, is this burial place of our  fathers.

C. John Maulsby died before March 8, in 1809.

Lydia Maulsby died 1816



Samuel John and Griffith John were sons of John Philip, of Pembrokeshire, Wales. According to the Welsh custom they took their father’s first name for their last name.- They came to this country in 1709, and settled in Uwchlan township, Chester county, Pa. Uwchlan is a Welsh word, signifying “Land above the Valley,” and was given to a township lying just north of what is called the “Great Valley.” The settlers of Uwchlan township were Welsh. It is not clear whether Samuel John brought his wife with him from Wales, or was married in Pennsylvania. If married in Pennsylvania it was before he joined the Society of Friends, as no mention is made of their marriage on the records of the meeting. His wife’s name was Margaret.


Mary, b. 12 mo. 19, 1709; m. John Griffith, 8-31, 1734
Samuel, b. 11 mo. 22, 1711; m. Ann Jenkin, 10-14-1737

Margaret, b. 1 mo. 2, 1712-3; m. John Evans, also James John

David, b. 11 mo. 30, 1714; died (or buried) 12-2-1723-4. Ellen, b. 2 mo. 26, 1718; m. William Downing 10-10, 1741. Daniel, b. 2 mo. 12, 1720; m. Elizabeth Rees, 11-20-1742-3. Rebecca, m. Stephen Philips.

The Friends in Uwchlan were at first members of Chester Monthly Meeting. At Chester Monthly Meeting 8-29-1716, “Youghland meeting Proposeth to this meeting to have James Pew an overseer of their meeting with Samuel John, which this meeting Approves to till further order.” In 1763 Uwchlan Monthly Meeting was established. It included the meetings of Uwchlan, Nantmel and Pikeland. Samuel John, in his will, dated 1761, provides for Margaret his wife; gives to son Samuel £20; to daughter, Mary Griffith, £5; to daughter Margaret, wife of James John, £5 ; to daughter Elenor, wife of William Downing, £10; to daughter Rebecca, wife of Stephen Philips, £10; to son Daniel, the homestead, containing 130 acres.

“A Testimony from Uwchlan Monthly Meeting in Pennsylvania, concerning Samuel John.” “He was born in Pembrokeshire, in the principality of Wales, in the year 1680, and was educated in profession with the church of England, being (as we have been informed by those who then knew him) a sober youth, religiously inclined, and concerned for an inward acquaintance with the Lord, who had touched his heart with a sense of His own state and condition, whence desires being raised after that which is substantial, he continued seeking for many years, and among divers professions.


‘Tie came over to Pennsylvania in the year 1709, and some time after settled at Uwchlan aforesaid, and soon joined in society with Friends, having for divers years before been under some convincement of the principle of truth as held by us; and being measurably faithful to the manifestation of grace received, the Lord was pleased to bestow upon him a dispensation of the gospel to preach, in which we believe he laboured faithfully, and became a sound and able minister. His sitting in meetings for divine worship was solid and exemplary, often in silence, tho’ at times when moved thereto, doctrine hath dropped from him as the dew, and his speech distilled as the small rain, to the refreshing the hungry and thirsty soul.


“He was an example of plainness and moderation, his conversation weighty and instructive, also very encouraging to such as were well minded; and divers small pieces found among his papers, which appear as the produce of his private meditations, manifest that his conversation was often in heaven, and his meditation on heavenly things. “It was his lot to pass through divers baptising and afflicting circumstances (occasioned by the conduct of some who ought to have been a comfort to him in his declining years), which he bore with becoming patience, and retained his greenness to the last, appearing in a sweet comfortable frame of mind. He often expressed himself in a deep, sensible and affecting manner, to some who visited him during his last weakness, which continued a considerable time, being confined at home thro’ bodily infirmity and old age, for near two years before his decease.

“He quietly departed this life on the 16th of the tenth month, 1766, in the eighty-seventh year of his age, having been a minister about 54 years, and was buried the 18th of the said month; when a solemn meeting was held, wherein the overshadowing of truth was measurably felt, under the influence whereof the unruly were warned and the feeble minded comforted and encouraged to preserve in the way which leads to peace.” Griffith John, son of John Philip and Elin, his wife, was born in Pembrokeshire in Wales in the year 1683 ; and came into Pennsylvania on the eleventh day of the second month in the year 1709, and married Ann Williams on the twentieth day of the seventh month in the year 1714, O. S., and died on the twenty-ninth day of the sixth month in the year 1778, about 40 minutes after 1 o’clock inithe afternoon and was buried in Uwchlan on the first of the seventh month, 1778.

Ann John, daughter of Robert William and Gwen, his wife, was born in Goshen, Chester county, in the year 1700, and died the 17th day of the 6th month in the year 1782, and was buried at Uwchlan.

(From Bible in possession of Perry John, Shamokin Valley, 1867.)

A testimony from Uwchlan Monthly Meeting in Pennsylvania, concerning Griffith John. He was born (by his own account) in Pembrokeshire, in the principality of Wales, in the year 1683, and was in his youth an earnest seeker after righteousness among divers forms of religion, until he became measurably convinced of the principle of truth as held by Friends, by perusing William Penn’s Key to Christian Knowledge, before he had much if any outward acquaintance with them; and coming over to this country when a young man, he soon after joined with Friends in religious fellowship; and being faithful to the manifestations of divine grace in his heart, he had a gift in the ministry bestowed upon him; and tho’ not large, was savoury and edifying; which, together with his exemplary life and conversation, manifested him to be an heavenly minded man, much redeemed from the love and spirit of this world.

He was not anxious about the increase of outward riches, but easy and content with a small share thereof; so much as served for bodily support in great simplicity and plainness, he thankfully received; having a testimony against all superfluity, and everything tending to exalt the mind of man or promote worldly greatness in any degree; seeking above all, the kingdom of Heaven and the righteousness thereof.


He was a lover of peace amongst brethren and in his neighborhood; and by precept and example laboured to promote it; being at times concerned to travel about on foot, even in advanced age, to his friends’ houses, and pay short visits in true christian love, and drop weighty and edifying hints, tending to stir up the pure mind; and scarcely anything was said by him at any time but what had a tendency that way.


He was a remarkable and worthy example, in constantly and early attending our religious meetings, until upwards of ninety years of age; when through weakness and infirmity, he was confined at home, and underwent great bodily affliction with true christian fortitude and resignation to the divine will, patiently waiting his change, which was on the 29th of the sixth month, 1778; aged about ninety-five, and a minister near 70 years.

(Collection of Memorials, Phila. 1787.)

Samuel John and Ann Jenkin declared their intention of marriage at Uwchlan Monthly Meeting 8-17-1737. Committees were appointed to make inquiry as to their clearness of engagements to others. At the next meeting, the report being favorable, they were given permission to proceed in marriage, the inquirers being appointed to have an oversight of the wedding.

The marriage certificate, as recorded, shows that Samuel John, of the township of Uwchlan, son of Samuel John, and Ann Jenkin of the same place, daughter of Evan Jenkin, were married at a meeting appointed for that purpose at Uwchlan Meeting House, 10 mo. 14, 1737. The witnesses were:

Samuel John

Margaret John

Evan Jenkin

Sarah Jenkin

Griffith John

Daniel John

John Evans

Margaret Evans

Mary Pugh

Ellen John


Elizabeth Jenkin
And 23 others

Those whose names are given were parents and near relatives. Ann John, daughter of Evan and Sarah Jenkin, was born 12-14-1714-15.


Isaac, b. 12 mo. 19, 1748-9; m. Lydia Thomas 6-19-1765.
Ruth, b. 6-24-1741; m. Job Pugh 11-15-1769, in York Co., Pa.
Samuel, b. 9-18-1743; m. Hannah Penrose in York Co., Pa.

Lydia, b. 9-7-1745; m. John Maulsby 5-21-1766.
Sarah, b. 8-3-1748.
Mary, b. 8-11-1751.

Ebenezer, b. 9-7, 1755 ; m. Sarah Baley in Tennessee.

Samuel John, Junior, served as an overseer of Nantmel Meeting from 1748 to 1752. Complaint was made 3-21-1757, of Samuel John, Jr., for suing a Friend at the law with rigour. A committee was appointed to treat with him for his offense. He offered an acknowledgment 4-8-1757, but it was returned to him for amendment. He signed a minute of acknowledgment 5-161757, to the satisfaction of the Meeting.

Ann John served as-overseer of Nantmel Meeting from 1744 to 1745, also from 1760 to 1764. She was also appointed to relieve poor Friends of Nantmel Meeting, if any appeared to need assistance.

Samuel John with wife Ann and younger children Mary and Ebenezer, received a certificate from TTwchlan Monthly Meeting to Warrington Monthly Meeting, York county, Pa., dated 5-51768. The older children Ruth, Samuel and Sarah each received a certificate of the same date to the same meeting. Samuel John must have lived in Newberry township, as the Friends’ Meeting was changed from the widow Maulsbys to Samuel John’s 3-111780. 10-13-1781 the meeting was still spoken of as being at the “House of Samuel John,” although the record of Ruth John’s marriage 11-15,1769, seems to indicate that her father was not then living.


Isaac John is of especial interest because his (laughter Mary married Amos Davis. Isaac John, wife Lydia and children, Rebecka and Samuel, received a certificate from Uwchlan to Warrington 11-9-1769. From Warrington they took a certificate to Exeter Monthly Meeting, Berks county, Pa., 8-8-1772, there being in the family one more child, Elizabeth.

Some of Ebenezer John’s descendants are at Richland, Iowa. Ebenezcr John, youngest son of Samuel and Ann John, moved to Tennessee and married there Sarah Baley.



Elisha died in Illinois

Jacob died in Oregon




Ruth died in Iowa
Saraii died in Oregon

Samuel John, eldest son of Ebenezer and Sarah John, was born in Tennessee, moved with father’s family to Ohio. He married in Ohio, Elizabeth Beals. Samuel and family moved to Indiana in 1829. Elizabeth died 1871-2 at 82 years of age. Samuel lived to be 85, dying in 1876.


Priscilla m. Samuel Wells; also Judy Roberts.

13. SUSANNAH MAULSBY married Henry Baldwin, (second husband), Adam Cresher


(21) Rebecca K, October 13, 1792; June 8, 1868

(22) Matilda, July 15, 1795; January 17, 1856

(23) Merchant, September 5, 1797; March, 1886

(24) Margaret, August 16, 1800; July 7, 1839

(25) Lydia Elenor, August 23, 1802; December 11, 1883

(26) Henry, November 3, 1804; January 29, 1883

(27) Susannah, February 10, 1807; November 10, 1868

(28) Caleb, died in infancy

Susannah Maulsby was born in Pennsylvania probably in the Plymouth settlement, as the family held membership at that time in Gwynedd Monthly Meeting. With parents she removed to Maryland in 1777, nine or ten years later going on with them to northern Virginia. Susannah, or “Aunt Susie,” as she was called in later life, was fair complexioned, like the Maulsbys, with blue eyes and light hair. She was of medium size, had a bright mind and good memory. When young she liked outdoor work, helping her father, even in the fields. At one time, when at work with him grubbing, she became faint. He said to her, “Loosen thy pretty coat.” She did so and sat down under a bush, amused that he made so light of her illness. The following is found among the marriage licenses of Frederick county, Va.: “Henry Baldwin, License to marry Susannah Maulsby October 21st, 1790.” Henry Baldwin was the son of Henry and Margaret Baldwin. His father was lost at sea.


At the time of Susannah’s marriage, it was a very grave offense among the Quakers to be married “out of meeting.” From the records of the Hopewell Monthly Meeting held the 1st day of the 11 th month, 1790. “Hopewell Preparative Meeting informs that Susannah Baldwin, formerly Maulsby, hath accomplished her marriage, by the assistance of a Hireling Teacher,” the necessary arrangements being made to look after her case. And again, “At Hopewell Monthly Meeting held 4th of 4th month, 1791, New Garden (N. C.) Monthly Meeting informs that they visited Susannah Baldwin, according to our request, and find the charge to be just against her,” arrangements being made to provide a testimony against her. The record does not state the result of the grave (?) investigation, whether she was disowned from membership, or the matter adjusted so that she received her letter. Henry Baldwin was probably a member of the Friends’ church, as no complaint was entered against Susannah for marrying one not a member of that Society. This complaint is given to show that she and husband were at New Garden, N. C, after her father’s family had gone to Tennessee. They removed soon, however, to Tennessee, buying a farm three miles southwest of the Meeting House at Lost Creek. The children attended school in Knox county. Henry Baldwin was a farmer. ‘He had also a “Hatter Shop,” where the entire hat or cap was made in the shop. Henry Baldwin died in Tennessee 1814-15. Later, Susannah, a widow moved with her daughters to Indiana. The following record is of her second marriage.


Adam Cresher, Susannah Baldwin Oct. 30, 1823.
Jacob N. Booker4, J. P.  At Centerville, Wayne county, Indiana.”

This marriage was unhappy, as Adam Cresher was a drinking man. Susannah lived with him only a short time, wishing afterward to be called Susie Baldwin. For years she lived alone in Economy, Ind., supporting herself by selling table oil cloths, which she made. She understood a process of preparing muslin, painting it black and stamping it with bright colors. These oil cloths were made out of doors in the summer. In the fall, she saddled her horse and took them out to sell, going generally into the southwest part of the county, where there was a German settlement. She brought on her blindness by working on the bright colored oil cloths in the sunshine. Susannah was very enthusiastic about the “John Estate” in Wales, hunting records and dreaming dreams. When the estate was received, she was going to have a “pacing horse and a saddle with a gold stirrup.” She wrote poetry, the poetical talent showing itself again in her great-grandchild, Alice (Williams) Brotherton. About 1854 she went to live with her youngest daughter Susannah Wright and her family at Economy. She lived to be over 92. Her hair was white as snow, her dream of the Estate had failed, she was almost totally blind, but was bright and cheerful, saying, “Oh, it’s nothing to be old if you don’t feel old!” She died in 1861, and was buried in the grave yard belonging to the Springfield Quaker Meeting, near Economy, Ind., beside her brother, David Maulsby.

14. ANN MAULSBY married Henry Thornburgh.


(29) Lydia, May 16, 1795; November 9, 1855.

(30) Sophia, May 12, 1797; November 22, 1863.

(31) Larkin, December 23, 1799; October, 1867.

(32) Lewis, February 20, 1802; July 12, 1890.

(33) Elenor, July 28, 1804; February 10, 1894.

(34) Raciiel, February 3, 1807; April 2, 1887.

(35) Henry, March 30, 1809; February 28, 1879. (35) John, March 30, 1809; December 19, 1892.


Ann Maulsby was born in Pennsylvania, 1771. She removed with parents to Maryland in 1777, nine or ten years later to Virginia, and to Tennessee in 1789. She was fair complexioned with blue eyes and light hair, of medium size and weight. Her grandson remembers hearing her tell of going to mill when she was a girl. It was probably when they lived south of Hopewell, Va. The Alleghany mountains were to the west, with settlements beyond. She said she used to ride a horse and lead a pack horse that carried the wheat and corn. Her route lay over a mountain, the trip taking two days.

[graphic][merged small]

This incident and that of Susannah grubbing in the field, recall to mind the fact that although in a Quaker settlement, the Maulsbys were surrounded by people who had slaves. Slavery was contrary to the teachings of the Friends. About 1758 it became with them a dishonorable offense to hold slaves, or to employ them or give any encouragement whatever to the work of bondage. These fair girls, taking up cheerfully for conscience’s sake, work too hard for them—the undignified slave work of their neighbors—have given to their children and children’s children a heritage beyond price!


Ann Maulsby and Henry Thornburgh were married at Lost Creek, Tenn., the births from the above family record being taken from the Lost Creek Monthly Meeting records. They owned a farm at Lost Creek, northeast of the church, but sold out, and in 1819 removed in wagons to Indiana, the trip taking six weeks. Henry’s brother Walter and sister Sophia Williams (a widow) with their families were of the company. Henry bought land of the government at $1.25 per acre on West River about three miles from Economy. Ann, or “Aunt Nancy” as she was called, was very benevolent and of a gentle disposition. To the offending grandchild she would say with a smile, “If thee does not mind me, I will put a stick on thy back.” Henry was a determined man, set in his convictions, and must be obeyed, right or wrong. Ann did both spinning and weaving and was a fine needlewoman. She was a Quaker milliner, making the finest of Quaker bonnets.

Ann and Henry Thornburgh lived together nearly sixty-eight years, Henry’s death being the first in the family. Henry died in Wayne county, Ind., August 11, 1862, and was buried in West River burying ground.

Several years after Henry’s death, “Aunt Nancy” came to Iowa to make her home, but died soon after coming, October 15, 1867, when nearly 06 years old, and was buried in the Spring Valley cemetery, one mile south of Perry, Iowa.

Henry Thornburgh brought into the house on his marriage to Ann Maulsby a son Jonathan, whose mother Adamson, died in Tennessee. Jonathan lived with the familv until his marriage.


JONATHAN THORNBURGH married Elizabeth Dennis in Tennessee



Martha m. Solomon Sisk, second husband Daniel Vardaman

Dennis m. — Sutton, second wife Mary (Jones) Stafford

John m. Ruth Conway

Richmond, m. Etta (Seaman) Bales

Henky m. Elenor Jane Gillmore, second wife Hannah Jane (Wright) Garrett

Louisa m. Elza Wilkins

Jonathan and family moved to Indiana earlier than Henry Thornburgh, buying land near Economy, where they made their permanent home, both Jonathan and wife dying there. Jonathan was born in Tennessee, January 6, 1793, lived to be 85 years old. Elizabeth (Dennis) Thornburgh was born January 4, 1795, also lived to be 85. Jonathan was a quiet man; a good financier. All of Jonathan’s children except Henry made their homes in Indiana. In middle life Henry and family moved to Dallas county, Iowa, where nearly all of his children make their homes.



There is a tradition in this family, that two Thornburgh brothers, young English Quakers, came to this country with William Penn, but no proof has been found to verify the tradition.

Probably the earliest account of the family is from the “Mills Family” when Henry Mills “married a Thornburgh of the stock of Walter Thornburgh.” There is no means of ascertaining where this marriage occurred, but it probably was near Winchester, in Virginia, some fifteen years before the Mills family moved to North Carolina. Hopewell Monthly Meeting, in Frederick county, Va., was established in 1735. Unfortunately the first record book, from 1735 to 1759, was destroyed by fire. If Walter Thornburgh lived there, the record of his family and certificate of removal were probably in that book. The Hopewell records mention Thomas and Benjamin Thornburgh in 1759; Ann, Sarah and Benjamin in 1773; and Abraham in 1775, but no clue is given as to their relationship with Walter Thornburgh.


The first clearly defined account of (1) Walter Thornburgh is from New Garden, Guilford county, N. C., at the marriage of his son Henry. On account of the custom of parents’ signatures coming first among the witnesses, it is probable that Margaret Thornburgh was Walter’s wife. The records of the Friends’ church has the following: “Whereas (2) Henry Thornburgh, son of Walter Thornburgh of Roan county, and Rachel Moon, daughter of Simon Moon of the same place having declared their intentions of marriage with each other before several monthly meetings of the people called Quakers held at New Garden according to the good order established among them and nothing appearing to obstruct were left to their liberty to accomplish their marriage, the which they did on the 12 of ye 7 mo. 1758, at New Garden, in the presence of many witnesses, twelve of whose names are here inserted to-wit:

Margaret Thornburgh. Walter Thorn Burgh.

Margaret Brown. Thgs. Brows.

Ann Hunt. Richard Moon.

Ruth Dicks. Nathan Dicks.

Hannah Dicks. Samuel Brown.

Sarah Hunt. Abraham Cook.

A partial list of the children of Henry and Rachel Thornburgh is given as follows:

    (3) Margaret b. 25 of ye 6 mo. 1759.

(4) Hannah b. 15 of ye 10 mo. 1760.

(5) Walter b. 15 of ye 11 mo. 1762.

(6) Mary b. 19 of ye 12 mo. 1761.

(7) Rachel b. 5 of ye 12 mo. 1765.

(8) Jane b. 23 of ye 12 mo. 1768.

    (9) Ann b. 8 of ye 10 mo. 1770. (10) Henry b. 25 of ye 5 mo. 1773.

   (11) Lowey b. 14 of ye 7 mo. 1775.”


There were also:

   (12) Sophia (thornburg) (williams) Barnard.

   (13) Richard, September 9, 1783; August 15, 1872. Walter Thornburgh (5) son of Henry and Rachel Thornburgh,

married Mary Baldwin, daughter of William and Elizabeth Baldwin, at New Garden, 11th of 10 mo. 1786.

Henry (2) and Rachel Thornburgh and children moved to Lost Creek about 1789. Lost Creek records has the following” among the early families.











Sarah (sallie)

Elizabeth married Moses Mills

Sarah (Sallie) married James Lumpkin

Sophia (Thornburgh) Williams (12), a widow with three sons, settled on West River. She married — Barnard. He died in a few years. Sophia lived to a good old age, dying on the farm on West River.

Henry (2) and Rachel (Moon) Thornburgh probably died at Lost Creek as the records give no account of their removal from there.

The first three generations of the Thornburghs that touch our family are as follows:

Walter Thornburgh (1) and probably Margaret.


Henry Thornburgh (2) and Rachel Moon
Henry Thornburgh (3) and Ann Maulsby

Richard Tiiornburgh (3) and Elenor Maulsby
Walter Thornburgh (3) and Mary Baldwin

15. WILLIAM MAULSBY married Mary Cox.


(37) John 0. b. April 14, 1803; Hardin county, Iowa.

(38) Thomas, b. January 6, 1805; January 19, 1878. William Maulsby was born in Pennsylvania probably in the northern part of York county, went with the family to Maryland in 1777, to Virginia in 1786-7 and to Lost Creek, Tenn., 1789. Mary Cox was the daughter of Richard and Hannah (Williams) Cox. William Maulsby and family moved to Ohio.

16. SARAH MAULSBY married William Mills


(39) Ann (nancy) b. March 17, 1800; d. February 21, 1826

(40) Benjamine, April 20, 1801; June 14, 1859

(41) David, January 23, 1803; January 21, 1840

(42) Jane, December 3, 1804; January 11, 1890

(43) John, August 28, 1807; November 10, 1853

(44) Lydia, January 6, 1810; died in Tennessee

(45) Samuel, May 15, 1812; March 3, 1823

(46) Sophia, April 17, 1815; July 27, 1855

(47) William, November 2, 1817

(48) Sally Ann, died in infancy

Sarah (Sallie) Maulsby was born in Pennsylvania, probably in York county, moved with parents to Maryland in 1777, to Virginia 178(5-7, and to Lost Creek, Tenn., in 1780. Sarah was a tall, slender woman, with deep blue eyes and dark hair. She married William Mills in 1799 at Lost Creek. They lived in Lost Creek neighborhood, rearing their family there. Sarah lived a devoted Christian life, being one of the leading workers in the local Friends church. She was very much interested too in her work in the home doing besides housekeeping, spinning and weaving. William Mills was a blacksmith, working at his trade until a very old man. Sarah died November 28, 184 2, at Lost Creek and was buried in the Lost Creek grave yard, her grave being one of the few marked by a lettered stone. William Mills,, who was of English and French descent, was born January 19, 1770, in North Carolina; died August 8, 1862. In old age William made his home with his daughter Jane Jones (42) and family. He moved with them to Jasper county, Iowa, in 1861, dying there at the advanced age of 92.


In the days of William Penn and the founding of Philadelphia, here came from England a young man named Mills. II” had a friend named Harrold. These two young men bought a whipsaw and wore it out sawing lumber to help in the building of Philadelphia. It is not known how long they lived in that town, but some time later moved near Winchester, Va.

(1) JOHN MILLS, a near descendant of the emigrant, was married twice.


(2) John married Sarah Beals

(3) Thomas m. Harrold

(4) Herr married Rachl Harrold

(5) Henry m. Thornburgh

(6) William


(7) George

(8) Jonathan

There were also daughters; one married William Beeson, another Henry Humphries. When the “French and Indian” war broke out in 1754, the Mills, being Quakers, became alarmed and moved in 1754-5 from the scene of hostilities, to Guilford county, N. C. They settled at the source of Deep River.

JOHN MILLS (2) married Sarah Beals. sister of Thomas Beals, the great hunter.


(9) Joseph moved to Clinton county, Ohio

(10) Sarah (probably her name) married William Hunt, a Quaker preacher and went to England. From them descended the eloquent orator, Nathan Hunt.

(11) Hannah married Elijah Stanley


(12) Ann married Edward Bond

(13) Mary married Thomas Cook

(14) Keziah married Joseph Hiatt

(15) Phebe married Cook

(16) Rachel married John Wheeler

(17) John married Sarah Williams

From this family John (17) is of especial interest because his son William married Sarah Maulsby. John Mills was probably born in Virginia. He was married at New Garden Monthly Meeting, Guilford county, N. C., to Sarah Williams.



William, January 19, 1770; August 8, 1862; m. Sarah Maulsby. Samuel.

John m. Mendenhall


Sallie m. Elihu Swain
Lydia m. William Morgan.
Alice m. Mordica Mendenhall.
Rachel m. Richard Williams.

John Mills (17) has been spoken of in the “Lost Creek Settlement,” as the earliest and one of the most useful members of that settlement. He was a weaver by trade, having a fulling mill on his farm. He died at Lost Creek and was buried in the graveyard by the Meeting House. John Mills, Jr., and family lived at Lost Creek. Sallie (Mills) Swain and family moved from North Carolina to Lost Creek and later to Wayne county, Indiana.

Lydia Mills born January 1, 1781, married William Morgan February 4, 1801. Their children were Levi, Seth, William, John, Rhoda, Huldah and Sarah Ann. The family lived at Lost Creek, William Morgan being one of the early teachers there.

THOMAS MILLS (3) married Harrold, a descendant

of Harrold the early friend of Mills.


(18) Richard. His sons Asa, William and Herr went to Tennessee about 1790.

(19) Ruben moved to Bellmont county, Ohio, 1807.

(20) Thomas married Jemimah Janes. Their children were Daniel, Elizabeth and Sarah.

HERR MILLS (4) married Rachel Harrold, a sister of the wife of Thomas Mills (3).



(21) Micaiah married Mary Hiatt. They had three children, Solomon, Susannah and Rachel.

(22) Charity married Peter Dillon.

(23) Jemimah married Strangeman-Stanley. They had five children.

(24) Elizabeth married Christopher Hiatt. They had ten children.

(25) Rachel married Ro Hodgean; had two children.

(26) Amos, born Octber 27, 1752, in Virginia. ‘He married Elizabeth Horn. Their children were Nathan, Jeremiah, Jonathan, Mary, Elizabeth and Rachel. The son Jeremiah married Deborah Hodson. He and all of his family moved from North Carolina to Madison county, Indiana, 1833. His family is now widely scattered. His grandson, J. Frank Mills of Dallas Center, Iowa, furnished the writer this early record of the Mills family.

HENRY MILLS (5) married a Thornburgh of the stock of Walter Thornburgh. Jeremiah Mills, son of Amos (26) said that Henry Mills (5) sat at the head of the Deep River Quaker meetings, Guilford county, X. C., for years, until the infirmities of age rendered him unable to attend.


(27) Aaron m. Charity Mendenhall

(28) Sarah m. Tuleton Johnson

(29) Hannah m. Manlovc Wheeler

(30) Ruth m. James Johnson

The Tennessee Mendenhalls lived in Rocky Valley, a Quaker settlement about seven miles from Lost Creek.


(31) Rebecca never married but kept house for her father. Aaron (27), who was a very strong man, moved to Tennessee at a very early date.

MOSES MILLS, son of Aaron (27) and Charity (Mendenhall) Mills married Elizabeth Thornburgh, daughter of Walter and Mary Thornburgh.


Zerelda (Mills) Maulsby, January 24, 1813; June 21, 1894

Milton L., June 18, 1814; April 9, 1889.

Walter, August 14, 1816.

Mary (Mills) Conyers, September 30, 1818.

Charity (Mills) Thomas, November 18, 1820.

Ruin-s R., June 20, 1823.

Oliver M., August 31, 1825.

John B., October 4, 1827.

Milton L. Mills married Matilda Locke; Walter, Lucretia;

Rufus, Elizabeth McPherson; Oliver, Rachel Locke; John, Jane Locke.

Hannah Mills, a sister of Moses Mills, married Isaac Hammer.

17. ELENOR MAULSBY and Richard Thornburgh.


(49) William M., June 3, 1804; September 2, 1876. Elenor (Nelly) Maulsby was born in Maryland, probably in Harford county, as the family lived at that time near Little Falls in Harford county. Elenor moved with parents to Virginia,


She was dark complexioned, like the Johns, with dark hair and eves. She was rather low and heavy set: had a kind disposition. She died at her father’s in Tennessee, June 15, 1804, and was buried in the Lost Creek graveyard. William M. Thornburgh (49) was taken by Henry and Ann Thornburgh (14), reared and loved as one of their children, beinsi’ near the age of a daughter, whom they named .’Elenor” for his mother. Richard Thornburgh son of Henry and Rachel Thornburgh was born in North Carolina September 9, 1783; removed with parents to Tennessee. He married Margaret (Peggy) Chase, in Tennessee.


Piioeba, May 5, 1805; m. William Sellars March 27, 1827. Rachel, January 20, 1808; February 15, 1803; m. Charles Cate, September 7, 1826.

Polly, June 20, 1810; m. William Gate, January 28, 1830. Obed, May 8, 1812 ; m. Priscilla Mills, January 28, 1830. John C., May 4, 1816; March 2, 1838.

Richard Thornburgh and family lived in Tennessee until 1845, when they moved to Iowa, making their home at Richland, Keokuk county. Richard was sheriff and Justice of the Peace in Tennessee, but farmer after coining to Iowa. He died August 15, 18T2, nearly 89 years old 1780-7 and to Tennessee in 1789.


Margaret (Chase) Thornburgh December 20, 1783; July 15, 1855. Margaret and Richard were both buried in the Friends graveyard at Richland, Iowa. That the Thornburghs are long lived is evidenced by a picture taken recently at Richland, of five generations of Thornburghs, Obed, 90 years of age; Clark, 70; William 50; Fred 28; and Clark six months.

18. JOHN MAULSBY married Elizabeth Grisam.


(50) Nancy, October 30, 1802; January 15, 1851.
(51) Lemuel, October 25, 1804; March 16, 1858
(52) William, M., November 3, 1806; June 22, 1849.
(53) Cynthia, November 23, 1808; October 29, 1893.
(54) David, November 8, 1810; November 23, 1871.
(55) James, December 5, 1812 ; February or March, 1888.

(56) Benny, December 15, 1814; July 10, 1878.
(57) Lewis, December 7, 1817; February 15, 1899.
(58) Sarah, January 15, 1821 ; September 12, 1861

(59) Larkin, January 26, 1823; December 9, 1900.

(60) John IL, October 20, 1825

(61)  Thomas T., August 2, 1829.

[graphic]John Maulsby (18) was born in Maryland, moved with parents to Virginia 1786-7, and to Tennessee 1789.’ He was dark complexioned; in disposition, light hearted and jovial. He married in Tennessee, Elizabeth Grisam, daughter of James (?) and Agnes Grisam. They lived in the Lost Creek neighborhood, John being a farmer. The family moved to Ohio after 1808, and to Indiana after 1814, where they bought land near Henry Thornburgh’s farm on West River, Wayne county. Later they went to La Porte county in northern Indiana, on into Michigan for a time and then back to Wayne county. A story is told of an older Maulsby, surely it was John that he moved so often, that when his chickens saw a covered wagon, they lay down and crossed their legs to be tied.

John kept his membership in the Friends church, the “thee and thy” being the language of his home. Elizabeth Maulsby died in Wayne county in 1819 and was buried in the West River burying ground.

After her death John made his home with his son Thomas T. As age came on, he exemplified in himself a very marked Maulsby trait, that of never growing old. Young hearted, busy, interested in affairs about him—why, his last words were about a neighbor’s lost child—his old age was in marked contrast to that of one with folded hands, waiting for the grim ferryman! He drove to Iowa in a buggy in June 1859, making his temporary home with son Lemuel, but intending to return to Indiana. However, while in Iowa, death came suddenly, April 22, 1860. He was buried in the East Linn graveyard near Redfield, Dallas county.

19. LYDIA MAULSBY married Jesse Jones.


(62) William Charles, May 5, 1811; December 11, 1873.

(63) John M., March 29, 1813; February 21, 1888.

(64) Elvira, died in childhood in Indiana.

(65) Lhcinda, February 28, 1818; March 4, 1884.

(66) Pleasant, March 27, 1820; December 8, 1896.

(67) Sally Ann, April 2, 1822; March 27, 1893.

(68) David L., April 4, 1827; March 12, 1875.

Lydia Maulsby (19) was born in Maryland, moved with parents to Virginia 1786-7, and to Tennessee in 1789. She was fair complexioned with black eyes. She was very conscientious and strict in her religious views. She was married to Jesse Jones, October 4, 1809, in the log Meeting House at Lost Creek, the record of her marriage and of her oldest child, ‘.Wiliam Charles, born 3rd mo. 4, 1811,” being on the old records of Lost Creek Monthly Meeting. Jesse Jones was a farmer, living in a settlement called Grassy Valley, in Knox county. The large meeting of Friends at Grassy Valley, belonged to Lost Creek Monthly Meeting. Jesse Jones and family were granted a certificate to White Water Monthly Meeting, Wayne county, Ind., 11 mo. 1814. They lived about two and a half miles west of Economy, owning a farm on West River.

JESSE JONES had married Anna Frazier before his marriage to Lydia Maulsby. II is wife, Anna, died in 1805.


Abner died in Tennessee.


Isaac lived in Alabama, probably dying there.


James died in Michigan.
Jesse died in Tennessee.

Jane (Jones) Underhill, died near Economy, Ind.
Martha married Miles Marshall.
Esther (Jones) Clark, died in northern Indiana.
Lydia (Jones) Price, died near Economy, Indiana.
Anna (Jones) East, lived to be 90, died in Michigan.
Three of the older set of children, Esther, Lydia and Anna,
lived in the home after their father’s marriage to Lydia Maulsby.



Jesse Jones, who was of Welsh descent, died near Economy. Lydia Jones (19) came to Iowa late in life to make her home with her children. She died while with her daughter, Sally Ann Bailey (67) in Guthrie county, and was buried near Rcdfield, in East Linn cemetery, then called the Maulsby graveyard.

In the picture the rough stone, near Lydia’s grave, marks the burial place of her brother John Maulsby. Other relatives buried there are Mary (Macy) Maulsby, Sally Ann (Jones Bailey (67) and husband David Bailey, William Maulsby (69) and wife Zerelda Maulsby, Lucinda (Maulsby) Davis (70) and husband Isaac J. Davis, Melissa (Maulsby) Caldwell (367), Albert Fremont Maulsby (376), Macy B. Maulsby (72) and wife Martha Jane Maulsby, Rice Maulsby (381), Ezra Maulsby (76) and wife Rachel Maulsby Simcoke, and Lawrence Maulsby (389).


20. DAVID MAULSBY married Mary Macy.


(69) William, February 27, 1810; December 19, 1894.

(70) Lucinda, January 14, 1812; January 4, 1882.

(71) John, September 11, 1814; November 19, 1876.

(72) Macy B., February 12, 1817; September 27, 1899.

(73) Ira C, May 15, 1819; October 31, 1850.

(74) Malinda, May 20, 1822.

(75) Lydia, November 21, 1824; July 18, 1901.

(76) Ezra, April 3, 1827; February 16, 1864.

(77) Matilda, December 19, 1829.

David Maulsby was born in northern Virginia, went with parents to Tennessee in 1789.. He was fair complexioned with black hair. When grown was a medium sized man. He and Mary Macy were married in the old log Meeting House at Lost Creek, March 8, 1809. The following is their marriage certificate:

“Whereas, David Maulsby, Son of John Maulsby, Deceased, of Jefferson County and State of Tennessee and Lydia his Wife, and Mary Macy, Daughter of Barachiah Macy of the County aforesaid and Lucinda his wife, Having declared their Intentions of taking each other in marriage before several Monthly Meetings of

Elenor’s youngest descendants, Carroll
Reran Thornburgh, and Thomas
Henry Thornburgh, sons of Thom-
as A. Thornburgh (225).

the People called Quakers at Lost Creek in the County aforesaid, and having Consent of Parents and Parties concerned their said Proposals were approved and allowed by said Meetings.

“Now these are to Certify all whom it may Concern, that for the full Accomplishing of their said Intentions this Eighth day of the Third Month in the year of our Lord One Thousand Eight Hundred and nine, They the said David Maulsby and Mary Macy appeared in an Assembly of the aforesaid People, met together at their Public Meeting house at Lost Creek aforesaid, and the said David Maulsby taking the said Mary Macy by the hand did in a Solemn manner openly Declare that he took her to be his Wife, promising through Divine assistance to be unto her a True and loving Husband till Death should separate them. And then, and there in the said Assembly, the said Mary Macy did in like manner declare that she took him the said David Maulsby to be her Husband, promising through Divine assistance to be unto him a true and loving Wife till Death should separate them, or words to that import.


“And the said David Maulsby and Mary (she according to the Custom of Marriage assuming the name of her Husband) as a further confirmation thereof, did then and there to these Presents set their hands.

“And we whose names are hereunto subscribed being present at the solemnizing of their said Marriage and subscription in manner aforesaid as witnesses have also to these Presents Subscribed our Names, the day and year above written.


[graphic][graphic][ocr errors][graphic][ocr errors][graphic][graphic][ocr errors][graphic]

David Maulsby and wife lived on the home farm at Lost Creek, taking care of David’s mother, Lydia (John) Maulsby. After hi? mother’s death, David sold the farm, with two objects in view, to get away from a slave state and to buy cheaper and more productive land. David Maulsby and family—there were four children, William, Lucinda, John and Macy B.—were granted a certificate from Lost Creek to New Garden Monthly Meeting, Wayne county, Indiana, 3rd mo. 1817. The family, with what household goods they could carry, moved, in one wagon, to Wayne county, Indiana, in the spring of 1817. They took cows, which furnished them milk, the motion of the wagon doing the churning. They camped out at night, cooking meals at an open fire. They bought land at $1.25 per acre, one mile north of the present town of Economy, the soil being deep and rich but covered with heavy timber. A vacant cabin near furnished a temporary home.

David began clearing a space, some six or eight acres, for a crop, cutting trees and hauling them into heaps to burn. When done clearing there were fifty log heaps ready to burn, but he had to leave to help a neighbor who had helped him. After he had gone his wife, Mary, set fire to the fifty heaps, and despite the fact that she had four little children to care for, the youngest a baby in her arms, she kept them burning all day. For several days after, rain fell, but the log heaps, under such headway, kept burning, and the ground was cleared in time for a crop to mature before the frosts, which came early that, season. David was a good financier, an energetic man, full of vitality. He died in the full vigor of  manhood, September 14, 1838, at his home near Economy and was buried in the Quaker burying ground near Economy. ,His little grandson Moses Maulsby (362) died on the same day and was buried in the same grave. The widow, Mary Maulsby, lived on the farm until the children were grown. The farm was sold about 1854 (when most of the family moved to Iowa), being owned now by Ellen Jordon. Mary Maulsby came to Iowa with her children, making her home with them. She was very strict in the religious training of her family, the “thee and thy” being heard in all of their homes. She died October 28, 1861, and was buried in the East Linn cemetery near Redfield, Dallas county.

[graphic][merged small]



The first record of Thomas Macy, the founder of the Macy family in America, was when he was made a freeman ye 6 day ye 7th month (Sept.) .1639, at Newbury, Mass. No man was allowed to vote until he had taken the freeman’s oath. Thomas Macy and his wife Sarah Hopcott came from Chilmark, England, and settled at Newbury about the year 1631. In 1639 they with others from Newbury, founded Salisbury, only a short distance away, naming the town for Salisbury of England. Thomas Macy was a merchant, a planter and held positions of honor in the settlement. He was a Baptist and in the absence of the ordained minister, often exhorted the people on the Sabbath.

In 1656 and 1657 Massachusetts passed many laws which curtailed the religious freedom of her people. One law banished all Quakers from the state, forbidding their return on penalty of death; another imposed a fine on any one who should harbor a Quaker, giving the court permission to add penalties if it so desired. Another law made it a misdemeanor for anyone, except a regularly ordained minister, to preach to the people on the Sabbath. The last law was made to restrain Joseph Peasley and Thomas Macy from preaching. The people of Salisbury were divided on the subject of religion, there being a number of Baptists, but the majority belonging to the old Puritan church. The Baptists petitioned to have the town divided; the Puritans objected, wishing the support of the whole town for their minister. The court decided that all the inhabitants should attend the Puritan church and help support the minister. Many of the people refused to obey the order, whereupon the court ordered a warrant issued requiring “Joseph Peasley, Thomas Macy and all the rest of the inhabitants of the new town, being masters of families” to appear before the court at Salisbury and answer if they had been obedient or disobedient to the order, the fine for disobedience being 5 shillings for each day’s absence. This order passed October 26, 1658. On the 29th of the same month another order passed “that Joseph Peasley and Thomas Macy do appear before the general court to answer for their disorderly practices.

Thomas Macy was a man of courage and of action and it is quite probable that these attempts to control his religion made him determined to secure a home where God could be worshipped according to the dictates of each man’s conscience. Early in 1659, he with nine others, bought Nantucket Island, the deed not being made out until July of that year. Thomas Mayhew of Martha’s Vineyard bought the Patent Right to Nantucket Island October 13, 1641, of Hon. Lord Sterling. He sold the island in 1659, the deed being made out July 2, he with nine others being the purchasers. T. Mayhew’s terms of sale were “ye Sume of Thirty Pounds of Current Pay * * * and also two beaver hats, one for myself and one for my wife.” The ten owners of Nantucket were Thomas Mayhew, Tristram Coffin, Christopher Hussye, ard Swaine, Thomas Barnard, Peter Coffin, Christopher Hussye, Stephen Greenleafe, John Swayne and Willm Pike.

In the summer of 1659, at Salisbury, Thomas Macy gave shelter to four Quakers. Complaint was made and he was ordered to appear before the general court and answer the charges. Instead of going he sent the following letter, which is taken from the “Genealogy of the Macy Family,” by Silvanus J. Macy of New York.

“This is to entreat the honored court not to be offended because of my non-appearance. It is not from any slighting the authority of the honored court, nor from fear to answer the case; but I have bin for some weeks past very ill, and am so at present; and notwithstanding my illness, yet I, desirous to appear, have done r utmost endeavor to hire a horse, but can not procure one at present. I, being at present destitute have endeavored to purchase, but at present cannot attain it, but I shall relate the truth of the case, as my answer would be to ye honored court, and more cannot be proved, nor so much. On a rainy morning, there came to my house, Edward Wharton and three men more; the said Wharton spoke to me, saying that they were traveling eastward and desired me to direct them in the way to Hampton, and asked me how far it was to Casco Bay. I never saw any of ye men afore except Wharton, neither did I require their names or what they were; but by their carriage I thought they might be Quakers and told them so; and therefore desired them to pass on their way, saying I might possibly give offense in entertaining them, and as soon as the violence of the rain ceased (for it rained very hard), they went away and I never saw them since. The time that they stayed in the house was about three-quarters of an hour; but I can safely affirm it was not an hour. They spoke not many words in the time, neither was I at leisure to talk with them; for I came home wet to ye skin; immediately afore they came to the house and I found my wife sick in bed. If this satisfie not the honored court I shall subject to their sentence. I have not willingly offended. I am ready to serve and obey you in the Lord. 27 d of ye 8 m. 59 (1659).  “Thos. Macy”

He was fined 30 shillings (which he paid) and admonished by the governor. Tradition, probably aided by J. G. Whittier’s poem, “The Exiles,” tells a thrilling story of Thomas Macy’s escape to Nantucket, followed by the sheriff and priest—leaving houses and lands and household goods. But Macy’s character, he said he feared not “the witches on earth, or the devils in hell,” and the records both prove that he was master of his own movements. In September or October, 1859, with his wife and five children and such household goods as they could carry, accompanied by Isaac Coleman, a lad of twelve, and Edward Starbuck, in a small vessel, he set sail for Nantucket Island. They were the first white settlers of the island. The Indians on the island were friendly, helping them prepare for winter and supplying them with fish and game. Mr. Whittier, while using a poet’s liberty in regard to the facts of the removal to Nantucket, certainly portrayed truthfully the spirit of freedom and good will manifested on the island. After describing the perilous voyage and speaking of the landing he says:

And how in log-built cabin.

They braved the rough sea-weather;
And there, in peace and quietness,
Went down life’s vale together.

How others drew around them

And how their fishing sped.
Until to every wind of Heaven,

Nantucket’s sails were spread.

How pale want alternated

With plenty’s golden smile;
Behold, is it not written
In the annals of the isle?

And yet that isle remaineth

A refuge of the free,
As when true hearted Macy
Beheld it from the sea.

God bless the sea-beat island!

And grant forever more
That charity and freedom dwell.

As now, upon her shore!

As early as 1672 whale fishing became an important industry. When on a voyage, the men did not receive wages, but took shares in the profits. During the winter the men worked at some trade. The women did their part of the work. They taught and cared for the children, kept house and even found time for fancy needle work. The writer owns a child’s embroidered silk sleeve, made on the island about 1695.

The records of Nantucket show that Thomas Macy was honored and useful in the settlement. He died April 19, 1682, aged 74, and was buried on the island. His wife Sarah (Hopcott) Macy died in 1706, aged 94. To Thomas Macy and wife were born seven children.

John Macy (2), the sixth child, was born at Salisbury, Mass., July 14, 1655; died at Nantucket October 14, 1691. He married at Nantucket Deborah Gardner. They had eight children.

 [graphic][merged small]

John Macy (3), oldest son of John Macy (2) and Deborah (Gardner) Macy, was born at Nantucket about 1675, died at Nantucket November 28, 1751. He married Judith Worth. John Macy (3) was a carpenter, their being, probably, parts of buildings still standing on Nantucket island that he made. In 1711, he and his wife joined the Society of Friends, the first of the Macy family who were Quakers. There were thirteen children born into their home. They were the great-great-grandparents of Edwin M. Stanton, Secretary of War in Lincoln’s administration.

John Macy (4), eighth child of John Macy (3) and Judith (Worth) Macy was born at Nantucket, December 11, 1721; died at New Garden, N. C., 1796. He married at Nantucket, Eunice Coleman. They had fourteen children. They removed to New Garden, N. C., 1761.

Barachiah Macy (5), ninth child of John Macy (4) and Eunice (Coleman) Macy, was born at Nantucket, February 24, 1760; died near Economy, Ind., August 27, 1832. He married Lucinda Barnard at New Garden, March 20, 1783. They emigrated to Lost Creek, Tenn., in 1802. Their children were:

(1) Mary, b. at Guilford county, N. C., March 8, 1784; d. March 21, 1785.

(2) William, b. at Guilford county, N. C., October 4, 1786; married Hannah Hinshaw at Lost Creek, Tenn., March 1, 1809. The family removed to Indiana in 1820, living near Economy. There were fourteen children, Jonathan B., Nathan H., Alvah J., Elihu C., John H., Lucinda (Macy) Hadley, William M., Margaret (Macy) Hadley, Sarah (.Macy) Hadley, Perry T., Ira C., Kuth (Macy) Hadley, Mary A. (Macy) Hadley, Lydia A. (Macy) Hadley. William Macy lived to be a very old man.

(3) Mary, December 17,’1788; October 28, 1861; married David Maulsby.

(4) Jonathan, b. at Guilford county, N. C., May 6, 1791. He married Hannah Pierce at Lost Creek, Tenn., 1809. There were eight children: Eunice (Macy) Jones, Ezra, Henry, David, Mary (Macy) Luellen, Isaac, Jethro and Aaron. William’s second wife, Anna Rodgers.

(5) Ann, born at Guilford county, N. C., September 15, 1793; died at Wayne county, Ind., 1842. She married Isaac Willis, son of Jesse and Sarah (Copeland) Willis, at Lost Creek, Tenn. Their children were David, Rachel (Willis) Thornburgh, Lydia (Willis) Beeson, Henry, John, Jonathan, Hannah, Harvey, Cynthia Ellen and Lindsay. Most of the children lived at Perry,

(6) Matilda b. at Guilford county, N. C, February 17, 1796, died at Wayne county, Ind., 1826; married at Wayne county, Ind., David Willis, son of Jesse and Sarah (Copeland) Willis. Their children were Lucinda and Waldo, who lived in Indiana.

(7) Eunice, April 7, 1799; May 15, 1801.

(8) Elihu, August 11, 1801; March 3, 1802.

(9) Isaac, b. at Lost Creek, Tenn., April 2, 1803; d. at Wayne county, Ind., February 16, 1847: He married Elenor Thornburgh (33) of this Genealogy.

(10) John Macy b. at Lost Creek, Tenn., July 3, 1806. He married Alice Mills. There were several children. The family moved to Illinois and later to Oregon, where John died.

(11) Lydia, b. at Lost Creek, Tenn., November 5, 1808; died May 2, 1875, at Perry Iowa. She married Lewis Thornburgh (32) of this Genealogy.

The children of Mary (Macy) Maulsby, of Isaac Macy and of Lydia (Macy) Thornburgh, can trace their Macy blood through six generations.

Mary (6), Isaac (6), Lydia (6), Barachiah (5). John (4), John- (3), John (2), Thomas (1).

For further account of the older Macys see “Genealogy of the Macy Family,” by Silvanus J. Macy of New York City, from which this was partly gathered.

BENJAMIN BARNARD, born and reared on Nantucket Island; married Eunice Fitch. They moved to North Carolina, 1764. There were nine children:

Lucinda m. Barachiah Macy (5).

Mary m. Elisha Smith.

Lydia m. Matthew Macy.

Matilda m. Henry Canaday.

Libni m. Amy Macy.

Shubei. m. Lydia Macy.


Frederick m. Judah Gardner.



Eunice never married.


This was called in the early days the Tennessee settlement, because of the great number from Tennessee who settled there. Richard Williams moved there in 1814; Thomas Swain and family from North Carolina in 1815; Miles Marshall and family in 1816; David Maulsby and family in 1817; Jesse Willis and family about 1817; The Thornburghs and Underhills, 1819; the Jordons, Gwinns and Elihu Swain at an early date. The land had to be cleared of a heavy timber. The farms were small—100 acres, 80 or even 40, making the home. In the pioneer settlement the women did fully their share of the work. They took the raw cotton, spun it and wove it into clothing, also flax of their raising was made into clothing and bedding. They dressed plain after the Quaker fashion, doing their sewing by hand. The families lived plain, the younger girls often doing the cooking-, the older ones helping in the spinning and weaving. A Meeting House called Springfield, having a grave yard in connection, was built near Economy. West River had its own Meeting House and grave yard. Chas. Osborn, who lived in early manhood at Lost Creek, was perhaps the leading Quaker preacher connected with the Springfield Meeting. The town of Economy, in the Tennessee settlement, was laid out by Chas. Osborn in 1824. There were schools there as early as 1817. Reading, spelling, writing and arithmetic were taught; also grammar for the boys, but it was thought immodest for girls to study grammar. Some of the early teachers were Elijah Reynolds, Elijall Mendenhall, Jimmy Osborn and Minerva Marshall. There was a strong anti-slavery sentiment from the founding of the settlement. The most noted antislavery meeting was the district anti-slavery convention held at the Springfield Meeting House, November 9-10, 1840. Isaiah Osborn, son of Charles Osborn, was made president and John M. Williams secretary. Daniel Worth was one of a committee of three to prepare business for the convention. This convention recommended that the abolitionists of the United States call a convention to nominate a candidate for President and Vice-President for the election of 1844. A state convention for the promotion of political anti-slavery action, was held at Newport, Wayne county, February 8, 1841. Thus was begun in Indiana part of the great

government which eventually freed the slaves. In 1843, Charles Osborn was sent as a delegate to the Peace convention held in London.


The following quaint poem, found in an old paper, is eloquent of the Quaker thought, that the slaves could be freed by means of peace.


To Charles Osbohn, the Indiana Delegate to the World’s Convention to be held in London on the 13th of the 6th month 1843.

Not to the fatal battlefield.

Where mortal must to mortal yield,

We summon thee to go.
Not to stand Ud in mortal strife
To take a fellow motal’s life
And make a widdow of a wife.
And fill the earth with we;

But to the glorious moral field.

The potent arms of truth to wield.

The needy from the strong to shield,

And break the oppressor’s rod.

To plead for justice in his name

Who came to heal the blind and lame.

And is to all mankind the same,

A just and righteous God.

We ask thee not to leave thy home,

And o’er the mighty deep to roam.

Where stormy tempests often come,

On any slight pretension;

But to unite with kindred souls.

From every clime between the poles.

Near where the Thames majestic rolls.

In one august Convention:


To hear the bondman’s bleeding cause,
And plead for truth and equal laws,
In fear of him whose mandate awes
The tempest to be still.
We ask thee, aged as thou art.
With friends and relatives to part.

And for a foreign clime to start,
Obedient to His will.

‘Twill be a most majestic sight.

To see a world convened, to fight
For what is true and what is right.
With none but arms of peace.

The booming cannon need not tell
That many a fellow man has fell
And made the streams with purple swell.
To make oppression cease.

Our motto is not blood for blood,
But ’tis the living truth of God.
Which man has never yet withstood
Without Divine displeasure;
Peace and good will to every man,

Of every grade, and clime, and clan,
We aim to deal out. if we can.
In a prolific measure.

And may that God who rules above,
In bowels of eternal love.
Be pleased to haste the hour,
When not a slave shall till the soil.
Or man be made for man to toil
By arbitrary power.

No garment died in human gore

Shall shroud the warrior’s form, when o’er

His head the banner floats,
And victor songs are rising high,
To stir the quiet of the sky

With their rejoicing notes.

And when thy trials here are o’er,
May’st thou land safely on that shore
Where troubles cease forevermore.


The next generation of the Maulsbys shows that the sons of these who advocated methods of peace, with Quaker blood in their veins and the peace words ringing in their ears, took arms at their country’s call. The number of relatives who served in the army shows that none were more loyal than the Maulsbys.

The Wayne county settlement marks the parting of the way in regard to membership in the Friends church. In the breaking off of the anti-slavery Friends, many of our family lost their membership in the parent body. Some lost their membership by marrying “out of meeting;” others for seeing some one married out of meeting. The younger members were annoyed by what they thought an over strictness about their dress, amusements and | attending other meetings. All our Maulsbys to the fifth generation were Quakers. Nearly all the fifth generation began life as Quakers, the “thee and thy” and the Quaker discipline being in their homes, but in later life fully one-half joined other denominations or remained out of church relations. In the sixth generation the Friends church has only its share among Christian denominations.




21. REBECCA N. BALDWIN married Hezekiah Williams.


Melinda, February 4, 1810; February 21, 1835. Milton, April 10, 1818; June 22, 1849. Alfred B., February 24, 1820; May 30, 1884. Aseneth, May 11, 1822; June 2, 1823. Aciisaii (Williams) Pruyn, May 5, 1824. William B., July 3, 1827; October, 1898, in California. Eliza Ann, April 10, 1830; March 30, 1835. Martha Ellen, April 16, 1834; March 6, 1835. Rebecca Baldwin was married to Hezekiah Williams in the log meeting house at Lost Creek, October, 1814. Alice (Williams) Brotherton of Cincinnati, daughter of Alfred B. Williams (80) has written the courtship of her grandmother in “On the Porch.” Rebecca and her husband started for their new home in Wayne county, Ind., in a covered wagon, carrying all their earthly possessions with them. They settled on land which William Williams had entered for them, in the northern part of the county, in a perfect wilderness. They cleared a farm, built a cabin and made it their home, until the town of Richmond was founded near them when they moved into town. After five years Rebecca longed so to see the mountains that they went back to Tennessee, but soon re turned to make their home in Indiana. Hezekiah Williams was in the western part of the state with others, looking for land and exploring the Wabash at the time of his daughter Aseneth’s (81) death. The following is from a note he made at the time: “1st of the 6 month, this day we traveled 25 miles—this night me thought I saw my little babe lying breathless on her mother’s lap, whose countenance to me bespoke deep grief indeed, which took such hold on my mind that I could not forget it, but often times as I was on my way home, oftener than the sun did rise & set the language of my spirit was, oh Lord, if thou hast taken our babe from us into thy most glorious bosom, oh gracious Lord be pleased to be with its tender mother & enable her to bear up under her hard trial—this and the like of this was the prayer and supplication of my REbecca N. Baldwin (21 ) heart, until I came nearly home it was realized to me by a friend verbally telling me it was the case.”


William Williams, the noted Friends preacher in early Tennessee, married Rachel Kemp. Children of William and Rachel Williams: Richard, Prudence, Hezekiah, Nathan, John Boid, Joshua, Caleb, Josiah, Jesse and William. (Taken from the records at Lost Creek). Hezekiah Williams, April 5, 1790; December 16, 1847.

22. MATILDA BALDWIN married Caleb Williams.


(80) Li Zena (williams) Conley, February 23, 1821; August 29, 1899.

(87) Salixa (williams) Hekvey, January 14, 1823; January 14, 1901.


(88) Henry, February 1, 1819; 1838 in Knoxville.

(89) Merchant B., March 19, 1825; May 20, 1901, in Richmond.

(90) Margaret Ann (williams) Stanley, died years ago. The family lived in Wayne county, Ind. Caleb Williams was

a brother of Hezekiah Williams, Rebecca Baldwin’s husband.

23. MERCHANT BALDWIN married Margaret Smith; second wife Martha C. Buckley.



(91) Martha Jane, December 29, 1831; October 14, 1871.

(92) Margaret died in 1834, in infancy.

Margaret Smith, daughter of Martha and George Smith, was born in 1811; died in 1834.


(93) Rebecca E. (baldwin) Ganaway, December 26, 1838.

(94) Henry C., March 10, 1839; March 17, 1861, in the army.

(95) Drury P., May 29, 1844.

(96) Charlotte Armstrong, May 10, 1846.

(97) Sarah E., February 5, 1849.

(98) Robert R., January 8, 1851.

(99) Luna Hall, March 11, 1855.

(100) Susan Eva Blanche, February, 1856.


Martha C. Buckley, daughter of John and Sarah Buckley, was born February 17, 1818; married Merchant Baldwin January 1, 1837. Merchant Baldwin made his home at Friendsville, Tenn., where part of his children and grandchildren still live.

24. MARGARET BALDWIN married George Rupe.


(101) Catherine (rupe) Carver, November 28, 1819; October 17, 1895.

(102) Henry B., June 3, 1821; June 24, 1897, at Richmond.

(103) John Luny, October, 1825; June 17, 1842.

(104) Hamilton Null, April 30, 1828; lives in Indianapolis.

Margaret Baldwin and George Rupe were married in Blount county, Tenn., in 1817-8; moved to Indiana 1820-1. Catherine and Henry B. were born in East Tennessee. John Limy and Hamilton Null in Indiana. They made their home in Economy, Wayne county. Margaret Rupe (24) died in Economy July 7, 1839, George Rupe, son of Henry and Catherine Rupe, was born in Virginia in 1798; died in the summer of 1859; died and was buried near Noblesville, Ind.

Catherine Carver (101) wife of Dr. Carver died and was buried at Winchester.

25. LYDIA ELENOR BALDWIN married Daniel Jones. Children Sixth Generation’.

(105) Sewell.

(106) Susannah (Jones) Payton.

(107) Charlotte.

(108) Henry.

Lydia Elenor Baldwin and Daniel Jones were married January 28, 1827, the record of their marriage being in the clerk’s office at Richmond, Ind. Daniel Jones was a Scotchman. The children all grew to adult age and all died of consumption. Sewell married, his wife and child dying soon after his death. Susannah (Jones) Payton (106) left one daughter, Rebecca Payton, who is still living.

Lydia Elenor Jones (25) died at Economy, December 11, 1883, and is buried there.

26. HENRY BALDWIN married Charlotte Armstrong.


(109) Robert E.

(110) Euell E.

(111) Armstrong.

(112) Adison T.

(113) Susannah.

(114) Moses M.

(115) James.


Charlotte Armstrong was daughter of Robert and Elizabeth Armstrong. Henry Baldwin (26) died in Tennessee January 29, 1883.


27. SUSANNAH BALDWIN married Absolom Wright.


(116) Henry Clay, November 1, 1829; April 18, 1897.

(117) George Anderson, November 15, 1830.

(118) Leander, March 24, 1832; September 12, 1849.

(119) Adaline (Wright) Armstrong, December 15, 1833.

(120) Luna, April 15, 1835; June 2, 1892.

(121) Lewis M., May 22, 1838; September 10, 1858.

(122) Morris Baldwin, April 20, 1840; November 21, 1840.

(123) Margaret Ann (Wright) Marshall, February 22, 18 12.

Susannah Baldwin and Absolom Wright were married at Centerville, Wayne county, Ind., April 24, 1828. They made their home at Economy. Absolom Wright was a shoemaker by trade. He was a fine penman and held township offices at different times. Absolom Wright was born in North Carolina September 20, 1804; died October 6, 1868, at Economy and was buried there., Susannah Wright (27) died November 10, 1868, at Economy and was also buried there.

Margaret Ann Wright (123) married Alonzo Marshall, son of Thomas Marshall of Economy.

29. LYDIA THORNBURGH married Thomas Ellis. CHILDREN Sixth Generation.

(121) Sophia (Ellis) Ellis, November 2, 1817; May 12,


(125) Margaret Ann (elms) Shoemaker, January 24, 1819.

(126) Emily, November 14, 1820; September 1802.

(127) Elenor (Ellis) Hunt, January 23, 1822.

(128) Morris Rees, December 20, 1823.

(129) Rachel (Ellis) Atkinson, January 24, 1826.

(130) Larkin, May 15, 1828.

(131) Rebecca (Ellis) (Toibert) Ballard, April 20, 1830.

(132) David, March 3, 1832 ; July 20,

(133) Lydia, June 20, 1834; July 23, 1835.

(134) Henry T., June 21, 1836.

(135) Thomas Elwood, March 20, 1839.

Lydia Thornburgh and Thomas Ellis were married in Tennessee, November 28, 1816. They moved to Ohio about 1817, soon moving to Indiana and settling on a farm near Greenfork, Wayne county, where they reared their children. They were Quakers. Thomas was a strong abolitionist, being an active operator on the “underground railroad” to help the slaves to freedom. Some time before the Civil War they moved to Vermillion county, 111., Lydia and Thomas both dying there. The following is an extract from the notice of the death of Emily Ellis (126), who was a graduate of Pennsylvania Medical University: “Miss Ellis was one of the few whose, earnest desire was to do good in the world, and she did accomplish much of her earnest purpose. It is to be deeply regretted that she died in the prime of her life, for the world needs such good women. She came from her quiet village home in Illinois, to nurse the sick soldiers, for her heart burned with patriotic fervor. No sister of charity was ever more devoted to good works than this quiet, unostentious Quaker maiden.”

Thomas Ellis, son of Thomas and Margaret Ellis, December 16, 1790; March 22, 1866.

Morris Rees Ellis (128) married Canedy; second wife

Larkin (130),

Asenath Macrackin; Henry T. (134), Rachel Gercy;

Thomas Elwood (135), — Tolbert, second wife Elizabeth Tumbleson.

30. SOPHIA THORNBURGH married Thomas T. Butler.


(136) John H, 1828.

(137) Edwin W., August 25, 1829; about ’54 or ’55.

(138) Martha Ann (butler) Holman, March 28, 1831; April 25, 1861.

(139) Darwin W., March 8, 1833; February 25, 1898.

(140) Calvin, April 26, 1835 ; August 16, 1836.

(141) Amanda Ellen, December 26, 1839; December 27, 1840.


Sophia Thornburgh and Thomas T. Butler, son of Thomas and Elizabeth (McAuly) Butler, were married in Wayne county, Ind., October 21, 1827. They lived in Economy until about 1837, when they moved to Noblesville, Hamilton county, where both died. Thomas T. Butler was a doctor. After Sophia’s death, he married Harriet Jamison, there being no children of this marriage. Thomas T. Butler died August 22, 1870.

31. LARKIN THORNBURGH married Betsy Banks, daughter of John and Delila Banks. Betsy Thornburgh died about 1850. Larkin came to Iowa later, dying in Perry, October, 1867, and being buried there.

32. LEWIS THORNBURGH married Lydia Macy.


(142) Coleman, January 23, 1830.

(143) Elmarinda, August 15, 1831; December 14, 1841.

(144) Lorenzo, March 10, 1833; August 30, 1862.

(145) Orlando, March 20, 1835; January 27, 1894.

(146) Macy M., May 6, 1837; September 1, 1849.

(147) John Henry, October 13, 1839.

(148) Larkin, July 17, 1841; December 5, 1841.

(149) Llcinda, September 11, 1842; March 5, 1850.

(150) Isaac, September 30, 1845.

(151) Lewis B., February 18, 1848.

(152) Lydia C., August 18, 1850; December 20, 1850.

(153) Elbridge H., February 4, 1852; September 23, 1879.

Lewis Thornburgh and Lydia Macy were married at Springfield Monthly Meeting, March 25, 1829. The family moved to Iowa in 1864, buying a farm near Perry, where Lewis and Lydia lived the rest of their lives. Lewis, Lydia and Elbridge II. (153)’ are buried in Spring Valley Cemetery.

Coleman Thornburgh (142) married Martha Greenstreet; Lorenzo (144), Rachel Macracken; Orlando (145), Elizabeth Dolly; John Henry (147), Mary Ann Locke; Isaac (150), Martha Howell; Lewis (151), Lydia Jane Willis.

33. ELENOR THORNBURGH married Isaac Macy.


(154) Lydia Ann (Macy) (good) Starbuck, January 4, 1826; March 27, 1863.

(155) Lewis, February 10, 1828; September 10, 1879.

(156) Elvira (Macy) Marshall, May 6, 1830.

(157) Jesse W., June 7, 1832.

(158) Irene, March 21, 1836; February 6, 1861.

(159) William T., January 19, 1839.

(160) John, May 8, 1841.

(161) Sylvanus, November 18, 1843.

(162) Henry B., February 14, 1846; February 12, 1865. Elenor Thornburgh and Isaac Macy, son of Barachiah and


Lucinda Macy, were married April 5, 1825, in Wayne county, Ind. Within one year they moved on a farm at West River, where John Macy (160) now lives, rearing their children there, and living there until the death of each. Isaac Macy was a wood workman. He took the green timber, seasoned it and made from it the wood work for plows, wagons and carriages used in the early days of the thirties. He was an excellent penman, writing wills and deeds and serving in several county offices. He was for years clerk of the Springfield Monthly Meeting near Economy. . He was heartily in sympathy with the anti-slave movement, his name appearing with others who pledged themselves not to use goods of slave labor, if they could possibly buy free labor goods at any price.

Isaac Macy, April 2, 1803; February 16, 1847.

Lewis Macy (155) married Eliza Petro; Jesse W. (157), Emma Osborn; William T. (159), Eva Guither; John (160), Lula Wiggins. John, Sylvanus and Henry B. were soldiers in the Civil War, Henry B. dying of wounds received in the battle at Franklin, Tenn.


34. RACHEL THORNBURGH married Robert Bond.


■ (163) Henry T., February 10, 1827.

(164) John, March 8, 1828; February 13, 1895.

(165) Emily (bond) Julian. April 23, 1830; April 19, 1855.

(166) Milton, October 20, 1832; July 21, 1872.

(167) Abner D., April 19, 1836.

(168) Lewis T., May 3, 1839.

(169) Lydia Ellen (bond) King, July.10, 1842; April 8, 1879.

(170) Larkin T., March 16, 1847; July 27, 1882. Rachel Thornburgh and Robert Bond were married early in

1826. Robert Bond was son of Jesse Bond, a Quaker minister, who settled near Greenfork, Wayne county, Ind., about 1818. Jesse Bond was born November 4, 1778, dying in his eighty-fourth year. Soon after their marriage Rachel and Robert Bond moved on a farm near Jesse Bond’s, where they reared their children and lived until the death of each. They were devoted Quakers, being found at Fair Field Meeting on 1st day and on week day meetings. Robert was a good financier.

Robert Bond, December 23, 1804; March 28, 1864.

Henry T. Bond married Mary Ann Boyd;

John, Thomza Ann Chessman, second wife Malissa Stigle;

Milton, Lavina Halderrnan; Abner D., Mary Ellen Scott;

Lewis T., Malissa Jane Boyd;

Larkin T., Clesta Scott.


35. HENRY THORNBURGH married Sarah Reynolds; second wife, Rachel Willis.



(171) Sarah (Thornburgh) Shively, July, 1830.
Henry Thornburgh and Sarah Reynolds, daughter of Antony

and Sarah Reynolds of Henry comity, Ind., were married November 20, 1828. Sarah died July, 1830.


(172) Arminta (Thornburgh) (Beeson) Baker, January 16, 1836; April 7, 1870.

Henry Thornburgh and Rachel Willis, daughter of Isaac and Ann (Macy) Willis, were married in Wayne county, Ind. They lived on a farm on West River, Henry building a saw mill on West River near his father’s farm, having in connection a woolen mill. In 1854-5 they moved to Iowa, buying a farm south of Perry, where they lived until Henry’s death. Henry was a farmer and somewhat of a politician, being county judge for two terms.

Rachel Thornburgh, August 4, 1815; September 21, 1886.

36. JOHN THORNBURGH married Elizabeth Hunt; second wife Minerva (Marshall) Maulsby.


(173) Wilson H., February 15, 1834; October 22, 1884.

(174) Madison, October 24, 1835.

(175) Henry II., October 25, 1837; September, 1862.

(176) Jesse, September 18, 1839.

(177) Sophie (Thornburgh) Jones, January 24, 1842.

(178) Joseph W., October 15, 1844; June 4, 1873.

(179) Larkin, January 2, 1847; October 11, 1862.

(180) Emily B., July 19, 1849; December 28, 1864.John Thornburgh and Elizabeth Hunt were married June 21, 1832. They lived at Franklin, Ind., for five years, where John carried on the business of tanning leather, having also a saddle shop. They sold out and moved to Henry Thornburgh’s (John’s father’s), living there until after Henry’s death in 1862. Elizabeth (Hunt) Thornburgh, daughter of Jesse and Mournen Hunt, was born January 7, 1812; died June 23, 1850. Emily B. (180) was a baby when her mother died. Her aunt Sophia Butler (30) took her into her home, where she remained until Sophia’s death. Emily then came to live with her father at Redfield, where her death occurred. John Thornburgh (36) and Minerva (Marshall) Maulsby, daughter of Miles and Martha Marshall and widow of Ira C. Maulsby (72), were married February 23, 1859. The family moved to Iowa in 1862, living at Bedfield until 1870, when they moved to California, one corner of their land being one-fourth of the plot of the town Santa Maria. All deeds given by John Thornburgh (36) were to be forfeited if liquor was sold on the lot. Henry H (175) died in the army; Joseph W. (178) in California, from the effect of soldier life in the war. Wilson (173) married Mattie Puntney; Madison (174), Ellen McLucas, second wife Mary A. Lawbach, third wife Victoria Woodward; Jesse H. (176) Carrie Fee. Minerva Thornburgh February 16, 1820. November 29, 1898. John and Minerva both died in their home in Santa Maria.

37. JOHN C. MAULSBY married Sarah Moore.

Children Sixth Generation.

(181) Mary Ann (Maulsby) Mills.

(182) Emily.

(183) Samuel, M., not living.

(184) Aurellia (Maulsby) St. John.

John C. Maulsby and Sarah Moore, daughter of Richard and Rebecca Moore, were married in Putnam county, Ind. The family moved to Iowa in 1844-5. Sarah (Moore) Maulsby was born in Putnam county in 1810, died May 18, 1859. John C. died in Hardin county, Iowa.

38. THOMAS MAULSBY married Phoebe Key.


(185) William, August 16, 1832; August 6, 1834.

(186) Phoebe, August 24, 1834.

(187) Mary, June 28, 1838; October 1, 1843.

(188) Isaac R., November 6, 1810.

(189) Samuel, February 12, 1843; September 17, 1843.

(190) Martin V., October 24, 1844.

(191) Richard J., December 12, 1847.


The family lived in Randolph county, Ind., Thomas and wife dying there.

Phoebe (Key) Maulsby, October 19, 1808; December 9, 1870. 40.

BENJAMINE MILLS married Naomi Lewis.



(192) Synthia (Mills) Dunlap, October 14, 1827.

(193) Lewis, June 21, 1829; died young.

(194) Sarah (Mills) (stanfield) French, June 23, 1831; July 6, 1891.

(195), August 24, 1837; died young.

(196) Julia (mills) (bright) Bonham, September 12, 1839; June 11, 189S.

(197) John Henry, June 7, 1842; died young.

(198) Huldaii (mills) Chapman, October 18, 1844.

Benj amine Mills and Naomi Lewis, daughter of Thomas and Ann Lewis, were married in Blount county, Tenn., making their home there. Ben j amine was a blacksmith. They belonged to the Friends Church. Naomi (Lewis) Mills, August 8, 1804; November 15, 1875.

41. DAVID MILLS married Mary Beals.


199) Delilah (mills) Jones, April 26, 1824; August 16, 1850.

(200) William, August 21, 1829; August 10, 1896.

(201) Rachel (mills) Moore, August 22, 1831.

(202) John, August 18, 1833.

(203) David, May 18, 1838; August 22, 1895.

(204) Benjamin died in infancy.

(205) Sally Ann died in infancy.

David Mills and Mary Beals, daughter of William and Rachel Beals, were married March 29, 1823, in Jefferson county, Tenn., where they made their home. David was a blacksmith. William (200) married Tressy Ann Jones; John (202), Mary Ellis. After David’s death Mary (Beals) Mills married Samuel Jones, their being two children, Lueinda and Newton, of that marriage. Mary (Beals) (Mills) Jones, February 14, 1806; February 10, 1869.

42. JANE MILLS married Isaac Jones.


(206) John Calvin, January 1, 1840.

Jane Mills and Isaac Jones, son of James and Rebecca Jones, were married at Lost Creek, Tenn., February 23, 1839. They owned and lived on a farm two miles south of Lost Creek Meeting House, where John C. Jones (206) now lives. Isaac Jones was by trade a blacksmith, but was a minister in the Friends church for 41 years. Jane Mills was a tailoress. The family moved to Jasper county, Iowa, in 1861, but returned to Tennessee in 1868, both parents dying there.

Isaac Jones, June 2, 1819; August 5, 1890.

John C. Jones (206) married Bachel Pickering, both beingQuaker ministers. They have eight children.

43. JOHN MILLS married Mary Janeway; second wife Rebecca H. Allen.


(207) Benjamin, February 12, 1830; November 21, 1897.

(208) William, 1831; June, 1851.


(209) Lydia (mills) Hammer, January 12, 1833; February 24, 1895.

(210) Louisa, August 18, 1835; July, 1853.

(211) Jane (mills) Hammer, July 20, 1837; February C, 1886.

(212) Macy M., December 25, 1839.

(213) Martha (mills) Owings, March 13, 1844.

(214) Mary (mills) Beals, July 28, 1846.

John Mills and Mary Janeway, daughter of Benjamin and

(Childers) Janeway, were married in Jefferson county, Tenn., about 1827-8. The family lived at Lost Creek until September, 1845, when they moved to Keokuk county, Iowa, making their home near Richland, Iowa.

Mary (Janeway) Mills, born in Jefferson county, Tenn., died at Richland, Iowa, July 28, 1846.


(215) Peter A., May 25, 1849; Februry, 1880.

(216) Enos, October 18, 1851.

(217) John Riley, December 9, 1853.

John Mills and Rebecca H. Allen, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Hadley) Allen, were married August 31, 1847.

Rebecca II. (Allen) Mills, August 24, 1819; February 14, 1886.

Benjamin Mills (207) married Mary Ann Maulsby (181) daughter of John C. Maulsby (37) ;

Macy M. Mills (212) married Katherrine Morgan, second wife Sarah Greeson. Lydia Mills (209), who married Elisha Hammer, had the care of the younger children after their mother’s death in 1846. John Mills (43) was a blacksmith.

44. LYDIA MILLS married William Guinn. She died soon after her marriage, leaving no children. William Gninn, or “Billy” Guinn, as he was called, was a blacksmith at New Market, Tenn. He was accidentally killed while working with a gun.


(218) Emily (mills) Hammer, April 26, 1846; January, 1871.

Emily Mills married Elisha Hammer, grandson of Isaac and Lydia Hammer. Two of their daughters live near Grinnell, Iowa.


(219) Sophia Jane (mills) Morgan, August 2, 1840; March 8, 1896.


(220) Berry M., November 10, 1843; November 3, 1866.

(221) John W., January 28, 1847.

(222) Isaac Eliett, December 12, 1851; August 26, 1854.

(223) James A., May 13, 1856.

William Mills and Nancy Mitchell, daughter of Berry and Patience (Reider) Mitchell, were married July 3, 1839, in New Market, Tenn. They lived near’ New Market, William Mills being a blacksmith. In 1841, the family moved to Iowa, settling at Richland, Keokuk county. William has recently moved to Martinsburg in the same county. He has been a life long and devoted member of the Friends. John Mills (221) married Betsy Ann Hammer; James A. (228); Anna Elizabeth Doser.[graphic]

William Mills (47). Nancy (Mitchell) Mills born in Tennesse April 8, 1818; died at Richland July 3, 1894.

49. WILLIAM THORNBURGH married Rosanna Ruth; second wife Catherine (Reran) Bohrer.



(224) John Henry, born about 1830; died about 1839. William M. Thornburgh and Rosanna Ruth, daughter of John and Ruth, were married November 11, 1828. Rosanna died

about one year after her son’s birth.


(225) Thomas A., April 9, 1847.

(22(3) Patrick Reran, April 7, 1850; June 5, 1901.

(227) Mary C, December 5, 1853; May 20, 1855.

William M. Thornburgh and Catherine (Keran) Bohrer, daughter of Patrick and Rebecca Keran, were married June 21, 1846, in Wayne county, Ind. They kept a hotel in Hagerstown, but in 1856 moved to Iowa, buying land about four miles northwest of Pedfield, then Irish Town. They built a cabin and William M.—”Uncle Billy” he was called by the pioneers—began his first farming. By trading land with a neighbor, by selling and buying, the home farm where Thomas A. (225) and family now live, is about one mile north of the site of their first cabin. Thomas A. married Jennie Vestal.

CATHERINE KERAX AND JOSIAH T. Bohrer were married July 29, 1827, in Ohio. Their children were:

James, June 3, 1828; July 21, 1887.

Mary, February 28, 1830; November 8, 1830.

Joux Milton, September 23, 1831; August 13, 1896.

George, August’14, 1834; August 2, 1865.

Rebecca, January 18, 1837.

Zenas C, March 21, 1839; February 25, 1897.

Refis Jasper, April 3, 1842.

Phineas Josiah, December 13, 1844; July 16, 1845.

Josiah T. Bohrer, March 27, 1804; May 4, 1845.

William M. and Catherine Thornburgh both died at the farm home, and with son Patrick Keran (226) are buried in the Linden cemetery.

Catherine (Keran) Thornburgh, February 27, 1809; April 24, 50. NANCY MAULSBY married William Wright.


(226) (b) William, February 26, 1831; November 26, 1863 ; died in the army.

(227) (b) Hannah (Wright) Epard, April 30, 1832; in fall of 1862.

(228) Wesley, January 22, 1841.

Nancy Maulsby and William Wright, son of James and Sarah Wright, were married July 6, 1826, in Wayne county, Ind. They made their home for a time on West River, Wayne county, where they owned a farm, William Wright being a farmer. Later they moved into northern Indiana, living there a short time, then to Delaware county, buying land and making a home for the rest of their lives, both dying there.

William Wright (226) married Elizabeth Harmon; second wife Rachel (Reynolds) Davis. Wesley Wright (228) married Matilda

Ballenger. William’s children, Wesley and most of his children are residents of Dallas county, Iowa.

Hannah Epard (227) lived and died in Delaware county, Ind. She had six children.

Before his marriage to Nancy Maulsby (50) William Wright had married Hannah Dillon. Children of his first marriage: Luke m. Lydia Bales; James m. Lucinda Willis (daughter of David Willis); Jesse m. Elizabeth Wrightsman; Charity m. Henry Bales; Lewis died in infancy; Abigal m. William Davis. All the children of the first marriage were in the home after their father’s second marriage. After Nancy Wright’s (50) death, William Wright married a widow Nelson.


William Wright, March 12, 1790; August 19, 1854.

51. LEMUEL (LEMMY) MAULSBY married Ruth Reynolds.


(229) Wiley R., February 6, 1828; January 21, 1887.

(230) Elwood A., March 18, 1829.

(231) Losada (Maulsby) Mcpherson, December 16, 1830.

(232) Henry, September 4, 1833: January 29, 1883.

(233) Clark F., July 2, 1836; December 21, 1862; died in the army at Nashville, Tenn.

(231) Macy P., November 8, 1838 ; November 4, 1863; died in the army at Jefferson, Mo.

(235) Cynthia E. (maelsby) Marshall, February 2, 1841.

(236) Ira R, February 19, 1845 ; February 10, 1847.

(237) Larkin W., March 19, 1847.

Lemuel Maulsby and Ruth Reynolds were married April 26, 1827, in the Springfield Monthly Meeting, near Economy, Ind., each holding a membership in the Friends church during life. Lemuel was a farmer. The family lived in Wayne county, then in La Porte county, Ind.; in Michigan for a time, and back to La Porte. In 1854 they sold out and moved to Dallas county, Iowa, reaching their destination April 15th. Lemuel bought a farm about four miles southwest of Redfield on South Raccoon River. This wa’s the Iowa home of the family, Lemuel and wife both dying there. Ruth (Reynolds) Maulsby, daughter of Anthony and Ruth Reynolds, was born March 20, 1810; died June 18, 1876.

Wiley R. (229) married Polly Barnard;

Elwood A. (230), Melvina Beeson;

Henry T. Betty Lank; Clark P., Katherine Williams;

Larkin, Eustatia Pugh.

As Lemuel Maulsby was one of the earliest of the family to reach Iowa, it may be well to look for a moment at the –


Lemuel Maulsby (51) and children and some of the Marshalls, relatives by marriage, settled in the southern part of the county, the South Racoon river, giving the name South ‘Coon to the neighborhood. In the northern part of the county were Lewis Thornburgh (32) and family; Henry Thornburgh (35) and family; Lewis Maulsby (58) and family, David, John and Lindsay Willis and others of the Willis family, relatives of the Maulsbys through their Macy blood. From their river, North Raccoon, this settlement was called North ‘Coon. Later the town of Perry was founded in the neighborhood. Between the two settlements but nearer South ‘Coon, was the settlement on Middle Raccoon and its tributary Mosquito Creek. This was near Irish Town, called later Redfield, and these relatives were the Redfield “folks”—William M. Thornburgh (49) and family, John H. Maulsby (60) and family, Sally Ann (Jones) Bailey (67) and family, William Maulsby (69) and family and his mother, Mary (Macy) Maulsby, who made her home with her children ; Lucinda (Maulsby) Davis (70) and family, John Maulsby (71) and family, Dr. Macy B. Maulsby (72) and family, Malinda (Maulsby) Patty (74) and children, Lydia (Maulsby) Davis (74) and family, and Ezra Maulsby (76) and family. Many of these families included grown children with families of their own. Taken together these relatives were a great company, and the land they entered or bought was of the choicest and was counted by the section, half or quarter—not acre farms. It seemed a promised land with its rich soil, free from stamps, the great distances giving a sense of freedom. Melissa Maulsby (367) wrote back to Indiana that their front yard reached to the Mississippi river.

Comfortable homes were built and schools started. The fields yielded abundantly, pasture was at the door, wild game was plentiful. Probably the greatest hardship was in getting the farm products to market. It was taken in wagons to Fort Des Moines, to Sioux City or even to Keokuk. There were dreadful days, too, very early, when dear ones sickened and died, with no medical help near. But all in all, our Maulsbys were well satisfied, the Maulsby laugh driving away many heartaches, and reverberating yet among our hills.

There was much visiting done among the relatives, and going to South ‘Coon or to North ‘Coon, or to see the “folks” at Itedfield was a great thing, the remembrance of the visit being sufficient to tide one over the busy farm, season, or the snow bound winter months.

Some years later John Thornburgh (36) and family, Larkin Maulsby (59) and family, Pleasant Jones (66) and family, and Matilda (Maulsby) Scott (77) and family joined the Redfield relatives.

52. WILLLIAM M. MAULSBY married Lydia Hall.



(238) Elizabeth Axx, September 8, 1833.

(239) Louisa (Maulsby) Thomas, September 25, 1834.

(240) Alanson, December 8, 1835; May 4, 1837.

(241) Nancy Jane (maulsby) Scott, March 20. 1837.

(242) Cyxtiiial, May 18, 1838; October 18, 1838.

(243) Sarah G. (Maulsby) Bash, August 3, 1839.


(244) Lydia Ellen (Maulsby) Thomas, July 10, 1842.

(245) Mary Maria (Maulsby) Thomas, October 19, 1844.

(246) Irena, December 28, 184(5; August 14, 1849. William M. Maulsby married Lydia Hall, daughter of William

G. and Nancy Hall, July 5, 1832. Their first home was in Wayne county, Indiana, William being a farmer. Later they moved to Porter county, buying a farm, where they lived, until William’s death. William’s widow married Henly Thomas. Lydia (hall) (maulsby) Thomas., May 11, 1811.

53. CYNTHIA MAULSBY married Samuel Pickering; second husband Eli Reece. Children were all of the first marriage.


(247) Larkin, So/ember 23, 1830; August 16, 1841.

(248) Elizabeth (Pickering) (swain) Thomas, June 22, 1833.

(249) Linley M., December 16, 1835 ( ?) ; died in the army.

(250) Henry C., February 8, 1838; died in the army.

(251) Lydia Ann (Pickering) Mendenhall, April 3, 1840.

(252) Macy M., June 10, 1842.

(253) Infant.

Cynthia Maulsby was married to Samuel Pickering, son of Thomas and Ruth Pickering, at Nettle Creek Friends Meeting, Wayne county, Ind., November, 1829. They lived the greater part of their married life in Henry county, Ind., where Samuel died. Samuel Pickering, November 11, 1807; November 7, 1865.

Cynthia Pickering (53) and Eli Reece, son of Levi and Sarah Reece, were married December 3, 1868. They made their home in Randolph county, Ind., where Eli Recce died in the fall of 1889. Cynthia was born in. Tennessee, held a membership in the Friends church, and lived a devoted Christian life.

54. DAVID MAULSBY married Isabel Carr.


(254) John C., June 21, 1832; died about the first of January, 1864, in Libby prison.

(255) Chariat Jane, September !), 1835; May 9, 1840.

(256) Phebe (Maulsby) Stevens, June 15, 1836.

(257) Tilmon A., January 21, 1838; died in Greene county, Iowa.

(258) Elizabeth (Maulsby) Mallory, January 31, 1840.

(259) Cyntha A. (Maulsby) Reed, November 7, 1841.

(260) Nancy (Maulsby) Shelmerdine, February 3, 1844.

(261) Levi 13., August 3, 1347.

David Maulsby married Isabel Carr, daughter of Samuel and Sarah Carr cf Henry county, Ind. David was a farmer. The family lived in Wayne county, Ind., but later moved to Iowa, buying land in Greene county, where they made their permanent home. Isabel died at Perry, Iowa, while on a visit there, David at his home in Greene county. Isabel (Carr) Maulsby, March 15, 1807; January 14, 1870. Levi B. Maulsby (261) is at Glidden, Iowa.

55. JAMES MAULSBY married Ruth H. Beeson. Children Sixth Generation.

(262) Delphina, May 14, 1832 ; August 16, 1833.

(263) Silas B., February 23, 1835; April 27, 1875


James Maulsby and Ruth Beeson were married in Indiana, making their home in Wayne county. James was a blacksmith and farmer in early life, but was a minister in the Friends church for about fifty years. Ruth was a Quaker milliner. Ruth (Beeson) Maulsby, daughter of Benjamin and Margaret Beeson, was born October 7, 1809; died —. After Ruth’s death, James married a widow-Reece. James died in Indiana.

56. BENJAMIN MAULSBY married Rhoda Williams.


(264) Rachel Melvina (Maulsby) Shoemaker, December 29, 1839; April 24, 1864.

(265) Mary Elizabeth (Maulsby) Shoemaker, June 29, 1841.

(266) Infant, June 29, 1811; died unnamed.

(267) Lewis Americus, June 19, 1843.

(268) John Luna, June 30, 1845; July 31, 1864; died in Andersonville prison.

(269) Edwin, January 23, 1848; January 30, 1848.

(270) Erwin, January 23, 1848; February 3, 1848.

(271) Erastus Tyler, February 19, 1849; December 1, 1885.

(272) Marissa (Maulsby) Walter, February 5, 1852.

(273) Thos. Clarkson, March 11, 1854.

(274) Wendell Philips, May 10, 1856.

(275) Viola Malinda (maulsby) Cotton, March 6, 1859. Benjamin (Benny) Maulsby and Rhoda Williams, daughter of Richard and Rachel Williams, were married in Wayne county, Ind., January 13, 1839. They lived about one year in Wayne then moved to Porter county, buying land in what was called the “big timber” near Valparaiso. They built a cabin and cleared a farm. About ten years later, they built a story and a half frame house, which with an addition built in the early sixties, is still standing, the black walnut doors and their casings, the window casings and sash, looking as they did fifty years ago. Benny and wife Rhoda were very devoted Quakers. When they moved to Porter county they were in a neighborhood of Friends, the families of William Barnard, Lemuel Maulsby (51), Nathan Bales and John Maulsby (60) being of the number. By death and removal their Quaker meeting was reduced to two families, Benny Maulsby’s and Nathan Bales’. These two families held their meetings faithfully for years, first in the church, then in a school house, and then in their homes, on first day at Benny Maulsby’s and on fifth day at Nathan Bales’. On one fifth day Benny could not go, so he sent his son Thomas (278), a barefoot lad of nine years. Nathan and the boy were alone at the meeting, which was then held in the school house. They sat for one hour in silence, shook hands and went home. Thomas recalls it as the time when he sat next to the head in meeting. On account of wanting better church privileges for the family, the home in Porter county was sold in 18C4. Benny bought a farm six and a half miles north of Marshalltown, Iowa. The family moved there in March, 1865, making it their permanent home, Benny and Rhoda both dying there. Botli were buried in the Friends cemetery near their home. Benny was born in Greene county, Ohio; Rhoda in Wayne county, Ind. Rhoda (Williams) Maulsby, February 14, 1818; October 1, 1891.

Benny’s children live in or near Marshalltown. Lewis A. (267) married Fannie M. Ward; Erastus T. (271), Maria Anna Fogg; Thomas C. (273) Christyann Beason; Wendell P. (274), Minnie T. Palmer.

57. SARAH MAULSBY married William Lumpkin.


(276) Elizabeth, June 24, 1843; May 24, 1874.

(277) Charity Jane, January 4, 1845; May 1,1865.

(278) Sarah Ellen, December 3, 1846; November 19, 1850.

(279) James Monroe, October 3, 1848 ; December 3, 1850. Sarah Maulsby and William Lumpkin, son of James and Sarah

(Sallie) Thornburgh Lumpkin, were married in Wayne county, Ind., September 6, 1842. William was a brother of Robert L. Lumpkin, whose family is well known in Dallas county, Iowa. Children of William and Robert L. trace their Thornburgh blood as follows: William or Robert L., Sarah (Sallie) Thornburgh, Walter Thornburgh, Henry Thornburgh, Walter Thornburgh. William Lumpkin was a farmer, the family making their home on a farm in Randolph county, Ind. After Sarah’s death William married —. William Lumpkin, April 4, 1822; Janury 19, 1902.

58. LEWIS MAULSBY married Marissa Andrews.



(280) John C, January 22, 1843.

(281) Benjamin, November 15, 1844; March 3, 1846.

(282) James Madison, October 22, 1846; September 12, 1848.

(283) Thomas C, August 30, 1848; December 30, 1849.


(284) Elizabeth (maulsby) Baker, August 25, 1850.

(285) Charlotte C. (maulsby) Willis, June 23, 1852.

(286) Sarah A. (maulsby) Willis, November 16, 1855.

(287) Charles F., November 23, 1857; July 29, 1858.

(288) Malinda (maulsby) Beeson, May 15, 1859.

(289) Sherman B., May 31, 1862.

(290) Martha M. (maulsby) Staley, February 15, 1865. Lewis Maulsby and Marissa Andrews, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth Andrews were married in Missouri, March 29, 1842. They moved from Missouri to Porter county, Ind. In 1860 the family came to Iowa. They lived for a time near Redfield, but later bought a farm near Perry, which became their permanent home, Lewis dying there. Sherman B. (289) married Mary Price. Lewis’ widow Marissa, children and in or near Perry. The husbands of Charlotte C. (285) and Sarah A. (286) are grandsons of Isaac and Ann (Macy) Willis.

Marissa (Andrews) Maulsby was born in Kentucky, August 12, 1831.

59. LARKIN MAULSBY married Mary Eliza Thornburgh.


(291) Rachel Elizabeth (Maulsby) Ballard, February 10, 1849; May 6, 1872.

(292) Alonzo Pizaro, May 2, 1851.

(293) James Monroe, October 11, 1853; February 27, 1864.

(294) Lewis Sylvester, November 30, 1855.

(295) Marissa Ellen (maulsby) Hodson, September 29, 1858; December 1, 1877.

(296) William Albert, November 12, 1861.


(297) Sophia Matilda (maulsby) Bruner, July 8, 1865; January 16, 1898.

(298) Milton Scott, April 25, 1809.

(299) Irwin, August 21, 1872.

Larkin Maulsby and Mary Eliza Thornburgh, daughter of John and Rachel Thornburgh, were married in Wayne county, Ind., January 27, 1848. Mary Eliza’s children trace their Thornburgh blood as follows: Mary Eliza, John Thornburgh, Walter Thornburgh, Henry Thornburgh, Walter Thornburgh. Larkin Maulsby was a saddler and harness maker. The family lived in Wayne county where Larkin worked at his trade; moved to Porter county, and early in the sixties moved to Dallas county, Iowa. Larkin worked at the harness trade in Dexter, Earlham, Redfield and Linden. He died in Earlham. Mary Eliza died in Boone, Iowa.

Mary Eliza (Thornburgh) Maulsby March 29, 1829; February 6, 1896.

60. JOHN H. MAULSBY married Sarah J. Reynolds.


(300) Udorus E., December 81, 1849.

(301) Mary Malissa (Maulsby) Batschelet, February 22, 1852.

(302) Nancy A. (Maulsby) Dille, December 8, 1853.

(303) Rachel L., October 7, 1855 ; December 21, 1859.

(304) Elizabeth D., October 25, 1857.

(305) David Luna, January 19, 1860; March 5, 1860.

(306) Emma V. (Maulsby) Damon, March 16, 1861.

(307) Curtis F., August 24, 1863: August 29, 1884.

(308) William W., October 4, 1865.

(309) Macy L., May 16, 1868.

(310) Addie J., November 14, 1870.

(311) Ida M. (Maulsby) Stotts, February 23, 1872. John H. Maulsby and Sarah J. Reynolds, daughter of Elijah

and Deborah Reynolds, were married in Porter county, Indiana, September 3, 1848. They lived on a farm in Porter county, John H. being a farmer. They sold out, and in company with Lemuel Maulsby (51) and family; and Elijah Reynolds and family moved to Iowa in 1854. John H. bought land five miles north and a little west of Irish Town. This was the family home until a few years ago, when increasing years made it necessary for John H. and wife Sarah to have an easier life. The family now lives in Linden, Iowa.

Dr. Euorus E., (300) married Mary Charleton.

Macy L., (309) Norah Smith.

61. THOMAS T. MAULSBY married Ann Eliza Baum; second wife, Mary Ann Gillispie.



(312) Rosealtha (Maulsby) Rice, November 6, 1853.

(313) Richmond S., January 11, 1856.

Thomas T. Maulsby and Ann Eliza Baum, daughter of Jesse and Sarah Baum were married at Valparaiso, Indiana, June 15, 1851. Ann Eliza (Baum) Maulsby, February 14, 1833; December 12, 1857. Richmond S., (313) married Stella Hoyt.

(314) Jennie (Maulsby) Ivendreck, January 10, 1859.

(315) William A., July 12, 1800; October 13, 1890.

(316) Lizzie Ristora (Maulsby) Hankinson, February 7, 1807.

Thomas T. Maulsby and Mary Ann Gillispie, daughter of Andrew and Margaret Gillispie, were married at Valparaiso, Indiana, April 14, 1858.

Thomas T. Maulsby was a tailor. The family lived in Valparaiaso, Indiana, later in Chicago. In the latter city he was merchant as well as tailor. They live now at 191 Honore Street, Chicago.

Mary Ann (Gillispie) Maulsby, September 1, 1336.

62. WILLIAM JONES married Jane Thorp.


(317) Axiam, March 20, 1839; February 6, 1874.

(318) Demaris (Jones) Dormer, March 7, 1841.

(319) Milton, March 13, 1842; February 9, 1863, died in the army.

(320) Erie, February 3, 1844; May 11, 1855.

(321) George W., March 27, 1840.

(322) Sarah Jane, September 23, 1848.

(323) Thomas, November 18, 1851; May 26, 1866.

(324) Arminta Plarilla, June 3, 1854; October 26, 1860.

(325) Lida C., August 7, 1856; July 20, 1860.

William Jones and Jane Thorp, daughter of Nathan and Elizabeth Thorp, were married February 7, 1838. William Jones was a farmer, the family living near Kokomo, Indiana, where William died.


Jane (Thorp) Jones, June 12, 1815.

63. JOHN M. JONES married Matilda Quisenberry.


(326) Louisa (Jones) Yeatch, January 18, 1842.

(327) Elvira (Jones) Mcandrews, December 3, 1840.

(328) Mary Elizabeth (Jones) Larkin, August 29, 1849.

(329) Nancy Jane (Jones) Kobson, May 23, 1854.

(330) Luzena, October 10, 1858; October 4, 1859.

(331) Sarah Ellen (Jones) Winship, March 3, 1861. John M. Jones and Matilda Quisenberry, daughter of Edward

Sanford and Mary (Thurlkill) Quisenberry, were married in Logan county, Illinois, December 5, 1839. John M. was a farmer. The family lived in Indiana until the fall of 1845, when they moved on a farm near Mapleton in Bourbon county, Kansas, where they made their permanent home. John M. held to his mother’s Quaker faith. He was justice of the peace for thirty-two years, his decision during the whole time never beingreversed.

Matilda (Quisenberry) Jones, September 5, 1820; February 29, 1876.

Elvira McAndrews (327), and Nancy Jane Ilobson (329) live in Kansas City, Missouri.

65. LUOINDA JONES married John C. Mendenhall.


(332) Pleasant J., January 31, 1842.

(333) Lydia Ellen (Mendenhall) Westgate, April 2, 184-5.

(334) Chkistanna Melissa, October 22, 1847; November 17, 1850.

(335) Sarah Ann (Mendenhall) Mount, February 17, 1851.

(336) Esther Luticia (Mendenhall) Jones, July 5, 1854.

(337) Ruth Emily, July 18, 1857; August 29, 1857. Lucinda Jones and John C. Mendenhall son of Isaiah and


Christanna Mendenhall, were married February 10, 1841. John C. Mendenhall, was a farmer. The family made their home in Indiana, then in Illinois, but moved to Iowa in the spring of 1855, buying land in Hardin county. Later they lived in Guthrie county. Lucinda’s last home, when a widow, was in Linden Dallas county, where she died.

John C. Mendenhall, March 12, 1810; September 22, 1872.

66, PLEASANT JONES married Ruth Bailey, second wife Mary J. Plummer.

Children Sixth Generation.

Pleasant Jones and Ruth Bailey, daughter . of Henry and Peninnah Bailey, were married in Wayne county, Indiana about 1840. Both were born and reared in Wayne county. Ruth (Bailey) Jones was born about 1824, died about 1845.


Pleasant Jones and Mary J. Plummer, daughter of Ira and Fanny Plummer, were married in Tipton county, Indiana, August 31, 1847.


(338) Jesse C, June 3, 1848.

(339) Ira S., May 25, 1850; September 16, 1853.

(340) Lydia Ellen (Jones) Evans, August 25, 1852.

(341) Ruth L. (Jones) Spear, June 9, 1855.

(342) Frankie A. (Jones) Martin, May 9, 1857.

(343) Ednau F. (Jones) Branch, April 7. 1859.

(344) Whitcomb O., August 18, 1861.

(345) Leroy De Witt, February 25, 1868.

Pleasant Jones was a farmer, the family living first in Indiana; they moved to Hardin county, Iowa, in 1852, later to Dallas county, living in Eedfield. In 1869 they moved to Missouri, then to Chase county, Kansas in 1875, and on to Oklahoma in 1895. Pleasant and wife Mary J. were Quakers. Pleasant died in Oklahoma.

Mary J. (Plummer) Jones, February 8, 1825.

Jesse C. Jones (338) married Mary Stephenson; Whitcomb O. Jones (344), Mattie Swisher; Leroy De Witt Jones (345),

Nellie . Part of Pleasant’s children live in Chase county,

Kansas, the rest in Grant county, Oklahoma

67. SALLY ANN JONES married David Bailev.


(354) Lewis IL, June 23, 1842; July 1, 1863.

(355) Henry V., February 9, 1845; August 8, 1864.


(356) Elenor Jane (Bailey) Cranmer, July 4. 1850: March 3, 1876.

(357) John L., June 27, 1854; November 1854.

(358) Lucinda Alice (bailey) Armfield, May 30, 1856.

(359) Ann Eliza, December 12, 1858.

(360) Alura, October 11, 1864; December 1, 1865.

Sally Ann Jones and David Bailey, son of Henry and Peninnah Bailey, were married in Wayne county, Indiana, December 17, 1840. David Bailey was a farmer. The family lived first in Wayne county, Indiana, but in 1851, sold their farm and moved to Dallas county, Iowa, buying land southwest of Irish Town. Later they lived in Guthrie county, then moved back to Redfield, where Sally Ann’s and

David’s declining years were spent, both dying there.

David Bailey, April 2, 1816; February 16, 1895.

The surviving children Lucinda Alice Armfield (358), and Ann Eliza Bailey (359) live in Redfield, Iowa.

6S. DAVID L. JONES married Sarah Ann Hatfield.


(346) Violetta, December 14, 1850; December 28, 1850.

(347) Martha, February 1, 1852; November 29, 1858.

(348) John, May 29, 1854; October 10, 1854.

(349) David William, April 7, 1857; December 10, 1898.

(350) Jesse C, April 7, 1857.

(351) Miles M., August 6, 1860.

(352) Josephine C. (Jones) Keach, December 31, 1864.

(353) Frank, December 6, 1871.

David L. Jones and Sarah Ann Hatfield, daughter of David

and Cozzby Hatfield, were married in Howard county, Indiana. David L. was a farmer. The family lived in Deleware county, Indiana, but moved to Mapleton, Kansas in March, 1873.

Sarah Ann (Hatfield) Jones, December 2, 1832; January 4, 1873.

David William Jones (349), married Alice Skinner; Jesse C. Jones (350), Ozzie Zertch; Miles M. Jones (351), Esther Luticia Mendenhall (336).

69. WILLIAM MAULSBY married Zerelda Mills.



(361) Irwin, October 3, 1834.

(362) Moses, October 14, 1836; September 14, 1838.

(363) Milton, February 19, 1841.

William Maulsby and Zerelda Mills, daughter of Moses and Elizabeth (Thornburgh) Mills, were married in Wayne county, Indiana, November 15, 1833. William was a farmer. The family living in Wayne county, Indiana until 1857, when they sold the Indiana land and moved to Dallas county, Iowa. William and his brother Ezra (76) bought adjoining farms about three miles north of Irish Town (Redfield). Little was thought of agriculture or horticulture as sciences in the early days in Iowa, but William Maulsby gave them close study and was authority on Iowa soils, crops, and fruits. He was a careful observer of climatic changes, keeping a record of temperature and rain fall. William and wife, Zerelda made the Iowa farm their permanent home, both dying there.

Zerelda (Mills) Maulsby, January 24, 1813; June 21, 1894.


Irwin Maulsby (361) married Pantha Caldwell; Milton Maulsby (363), Mahala Towns.

William Maulsby’s (69) children trace their Mills blood as follows: Zerelda (Mills) Maulsby, Moses Mills, Aaron Mills, Henry Mills, John

Mills, Mills.

They trace their Thornburgh blood: Zerelda (Mills) Maulsby,5 Elizabeth (Thornburgh) Mills,4 Walter Thornburgh,3 Henry Thornburgh,2 Walter Thornburgh.1

70. LUCINDA MAULSBY married Zeno Swain; second husband Isaac J. Davis.



(364) Ehoda J. (swain) Patty, September 27, 1833; January 2, 1900.

Lucinda Maulsby and Zeno Swain, son of Thomas and Lydia (Worth) Swain, were married in the Springfield Quaker Meeting January 19, 1831. The following is their marriage certificate:

”Whereas Zeno Swain of the county of Wayne and state of Indiana, Son of Thomas Swain late of said County and Lydia his wife deceased, and Lucinda Maulsby, daughter of David Maulsby of said County, and Mary his wife, having declared their intentions of

Marriage with each other, before a Monthly Meeting of the religious Society of Friends held at Springfield, and having consent of parents their Said proposals of Marriage were allowed by said Meeting.

These are to certify whom it may concern, that for the full accomplishment of their Said Intentions this 19th day of the 1st month in the year of our Lord 1831, they, the said Zeno Swain and Lucinda Maulsby appeared in a public Meeting of the said people held at Springfield aforesaid and the said Zeno taking the said Lucinda Maulsby by the hand, declared that he took her to be his wife, promising with divine assistance, to be unto her a loving and faithful husband until death Should separate them, and then the said Lucinda Maulsby did in like manner declare that she took him to be her husband promising with divine assistance to be unto him a loving and faithful wife until death Should separate them. And moreover they, the said Zeno Swain and Lucinda Maulsby (she according to the custom of Marriage adopting the name of her husband) did, as a further confirmation thereof, then and there to these presents set their hands.


Zeno Swain.
Lucinda Swain.

And we whose names are here unto subscribed being present at the solemnization of Said Marriage have as witnesses thereto Set there hands the day and year above written.

David Maulsby.

George Swain.

Sarah Swain.

Sarah L. Swain.

Elihu Macy.

Isaac Macy.

John Underhill.

Charles Osborn.

Maris Locke.

Riioda Swain.

Lydia Swain.

Lucinda Willis.

(Other names illegible.)

Zeno Swain was a farmer, the family living on a farm in Wayne county. During her widowhood, Lucinda made her home with her father’s family. Rhoda J. Swain (364) married Seth Patty, their children being Thomas Swain, Flora Melissa and Cora Matilda (twins), May and Reno. The daughter Cora Matilda (Patty) Payne is the compiler of the present genealogy.



The Swains were Nantucket people, Richard and John Swain being, with Thomas Macy, among the ten purchasers of the island in 1659.

(1) CALEB SWAIN married Margaret Paddock.
One son (there were other children) was Nathaniel (2).

(2) Nathaniel Swain married Bethiah Macy at Nantucket, Cctober, 1775, removed to Guilford county, N. C. prbably 1774. Bethia5 traced her Macy blood, (Joseph Macy4 and Hannah Hobbs) (Thomas Macy3 and Deborah Coffin) (John Macy2 and Deborah Gardner) (Thomas Macy1 and Sarah Hopcott).

Children of Nathaniel and Bethiah (Macy) Swain.

(3) Eli a r m. Sallie Mills, lived at Lost Creek, Tennessee.

(4) Joseph m. Jedida Macy.

(5) Thomas m. Lydia Worth, second wife Sarah Leonard. Jedida Macy,5 Joseph’s wife, traced her Macy blood (Jethro Macy4 and Hepzabeth Worth) (Jabez Macy3 and Sarah Starbuck) (John Macy2 and Deborah Gardner) (Thomas Macy1 and Sarah Hopcott). Sylvanus Swain who married Rhoda Worth, was son of Joseph (4) and Jedida (Macy) Swain. Cyntha Swain, first wife of the late Thomas Marshall of Economy Indiana, was daughter of Sylvanus and Rhoda (Worth) Swain.

THOMAS SWAIN (5) was born on Nantucket Island, June 3, 1769, moved to N. C. 1774, married Lydia Worth, daughter of Daniel and Eunice Worth, in N. C. 1790, died in Indiana, July 27, 1826.


^6) Eunice, July 1, 1792; killed when a few years old by an ash barrel falling; on her.

(7) Stephen, April 20, 1794; died in infancy.


(8) Job, October 22, 1795; 1848. (!)) Caleb, December 5, 1797. ‘(10) George, May 31, 1802; died in infancy.

(11) Obed, September 2, 1804; November 3, 1835.

(12) Rhoda (swain) Barnard, November 2(1, 1806; January 30, 1887.

(13) Zeno, December 6, 1808; July 9, 1833.


The Worths were from Nantucket, their names being in the early records of the island. William Worth was one of the earliest settlers, and prominent in the government of the island.

(1) Joseph Worth.1

(2) Daniel Worth2 m. Eunice Unssey.

(3) Lydia,3 July 5, 1775 on Nantucket; February 14, 1810.

(4) Job, m. Rhoda Macy November 29, 1787 in Guilford county, N. C.

(5) David.

(0) Zeno m. Abigal .

Ehoda Macy6 traced her Macy blood (Joseph Macy5 and Mary Starbuck) (Joseph Macy4 and Hannah IIobbs) (Thomas Macy”. and Deborah Coffin) (John Macy2 and Deborah Gardner) (Thomas Macy1 and Sarah llopcott).

Daniel Worth, son of Job (4), and Rhoda (Macy) Worth, born in Guilford county, N. C., May 3, 1795, was the great anti-slavery leader well known in Wayne county, Indiana. Daniel Worth married Elizabeth Swaim. Their son William married Elizabeth Bailey, daughter of George and Eliza Bailey; his widow and children, Virgina and Charley, live in Des Moines, Iowa.

Their daughter Emily married Daniel Grubb, son of John and Rosa (Bohrer) Grubb, children, Martin Luther, John M., George B., William W., Sanford A., Edmund O., and Rosa B. The early Swains and Worths were Quakers.

(15) (16) (17) (18) (19)

THOMAS SWAIN (5) married Sarah Leonard, daughter of Joseph and Phebe (Macy) Leonard, abont 1811. They moved from North Carolina to Indiana in 1815, in early pioneer days there. The history of Wayne county says: “In 1816 Thomas Swain was one of the officers of the town board of Richmond. He was a tall, swarthy complcxioned man with very good sense.’*


(14) Lydia, January 21, 1812; March 27, 1844.
Ciiarles, February 5, 1814; about 1896.
Eliza, March 13, 1816; December 25, 1824.
Prior, May 7, 1818; April 24, 1862.
Achsah, June 14, 1821; December, 1891.
Silas, January !), 1824; October 11, 1842.


LUCINDA SWAIN (70) married Isaac John Davis, son of Amos and Mary (John) Davis, in Wayne county, Indiana, January 4, 1849. Isaac was a farmer, the family living on a farm in Wayne county, but moved to Iowa in 1854. They bought a farm about five miles northwest of Irish Town which was their home until Lucinda’s death. Sylvester Patty (382) made his home with them until his marriage. Lucinda Davis was very anxious to have a genealogy of the Maulsby family written. She gathered valuable material, principally of the fourth and fifth generations, expecting to write the book. When she came down, to death, she regretted that she had not been able to do it. It was the thought of doing it for her sake that prompted the writer to take up the work. The Genealogy of the Maulsby Family as finished is more exhaustive in its researches of the earlier generations, than she had planned.

After Lucinda’s death Isaac J. Davis married Sophia (Drake) Lloyd; made his home in Linden, Iowa, dying here. See the Davis Family.


Lucinda (Maulsby) Davis


71. JOHN MAULSBY married Mary A Craft, second wife Mary Kimerlee.



(365) Wayne, July 3, 1836; February 8, 1844.

(366) Luticia (Maulsby) Rust, August 19, 1837.

(367) Melissa (Maulsby) Caldwell, February 10, 1840; June 4, 1890.

(368) David Alonzo, September 25, 1841; July 27, 1842.

(369) Malinda J. (Maulsby) Demotte, February 13, 1843.:

(370) Luna Craft, February 7, 1845.

(371) Edgar, January 24, 1847.

John Maulsby and Mary A. Craft were married in Wayne county, Indiana, July 2, 1835.

Mary A. (Craft) Maulsby, born February 11, 1814, in North Carolina; died February 18, 1847, in Indiana.

Mary (Craft) Maulsby moved with the Slaughter family from North Carolina to Wayne county, Indiana.


(372) Josephine (Maulsby) Frush, June 11, 1848.

(373) . Henry Cromwell, August 17, 1850.

(374) Matilda, October 27, 1852 ; February 22, 1853.

(375) Florence (Maulsby) (Duncan) Pritchard, March 4, 1854.

(376) Albert Fremont, June 18, 1856; October 2, 1863.

(377) Forest, November 13, 1858.


(378) Vernon, December 22, 1860.

(379) Frank, October 17, 1865.

(380) Mary, November 15, 1869; October 29, 1874. John Maulsby and Mary Kimmerle were married in Michigan,

August 19, 1847. John Maulsby was a saddler and harness maker, the family living in Economy, where John worked at his trade, except a few months spent in work in New Castle. The family moved to Dallas county, Iowa, in 1854. They bought a large farm west and a little north of Redfield. A house built in pioneer days, is still standing, one of the few land marks of that early time. John was a farmer, but had a shop built, where, during the winter, he worked at his trade. Later they built a large house on land east of the old home. At three different times the family changed residence to Des Moines. John and wife, Mary, and Mary (380) all dying there. John served as treasurer of Dallas county.

Luna Craft Maulsby (370) was a soldier in the civil war. He married Martha Kahl;

Edgar married a French girl, Carrie enry Cromwell (373), Helen Peters; Forest (377), Abbie Fee;

Frank a girl in Kansas.

Mary (Kimmerle) Maulsby was of German descent, her parents Jacob and Mary Kimmerle both being born in Frankfort, Germany. In her father’s family there were seven children. Mary’s relatives best known to the Maulsbys were her brother Henry Kimmerle, born 1830, and her half sisters Amanda Van Cleve, and Eliza Cavender.

Mary (Kimmerle) Maulsby, September 1, 1828, in Ohio; November 9, 1882.


72. MACY B. MAULSBY married Sally Price; second wife Martha Jane (McLucas) Webster; third wife Mary (Waters) Jameson.

Macy B. Maulsby and Sally Price, daughter of Rice and Susannah Price were married March 17, 1847 in Henry county, Indiana.

Sally (Price) Maulsby, November 11, 1822; November 3, 1851:

Macy B. Maulsby and Martha Jane (McLucas) Webster, daughter of William and Mary McLucas, were married in Wayne county, early in the spring of 1857.



(381) Rice, November 16, 1859; June 17, 1861.

Martha Jane Maulsby brought into the home two daughters.

Sarah, (webster) Stiles, April 12, 1848.

Julia Webster, June 1, 1850; April 25, 1867.

Martha Jane Maulsby, February 11, 1822; Ocober 16, 1869.

Macy B. Maulsby and Mary (Waters) Jameson, daughter of Charles and Harriet Waters, were married October 12, 1870, at Marshalltown, Iowa. Mary Maulsby brought into the home two children.

Thomas Jameson, June 3, 1857; October 6, 1887.

Achsah Katie Jameson, August 1, 1859; February 26, 1879.

Mary (Waters) Maulsby, June 24, 1829.

Macy B. Maulsby was a physician, practising at Economy, Indiana, where he lived during his first marriage. After his second marriage, the family moved to Iowa in 1857, making their permanent home in Redfield. Rice (381), wife Martha Jane, and Macy B. all dying there. Macy B. was a practising physician at Redfield about thirty years, beginning his work in pioneer days.


73. IRA C. MAULSBY married Minerva Marshall in Economy, Indiana, March 31, 1839. They lived on a farm in Wayne county, Indiana. Ira C. studied medicine and was a local physician, as well as farmer, contracting typhoid fever from which he died, from his practice. After Ira C. Maulsby’s death Minerva (Marshall) Maulsby married John Thornburgh (36).


The Marshall’s moved from North Carolina to Lost Creek, Tenn., probably in 179-k Among the early families on the Lost Creek Quaker meeting records is the following:








(1) Rebecca m. George Hobson.

(2) Thomas m. Nancy Dimmit.

(3) Margaret m. Peter Cat.

(4) Miles m. Martha Jones.

(5) John m. Peggy Oler.

(0) Jacob m. Elizabeth Macy. (7) Aaron m. Nancy Macy.

All these children of Thomas and Ann (Chapman) Marshall, moved from Tennessee to Wayne county, Ind.

MILES MARSHALL (4) was born March 18, 1789, in North Carolina, and died 1868 in Iowa. Martha Jones, daughter of Jesse and Anna (Frazier) Jones, was born March 3, 1793; died 1854, in Indiana. Miles Marshall and Martha Jones were married in 1810.

Their children were:

(8) Thomas, December 8, 1811; December 13, 1901.

(9) Mitchell, July 18, 1813; March 11, 1846.

(10) Mtra (Marshall) (Macy) Harty, November 13, 1815; about 1860.

(11) Maben, September 27, 1817; January 2, 1898.

(12) Minerva (Marshall) (Maulsby) Thornburgh, February 16, 1820; November 29, 1898.

(13) Margaret Ann, June 11, 1822; 1823.

(14) Calvin (Peet), August 22, 1824.

(15) Collin, October 17, 1826; July 4, 1863.


(16) Miles C. (Bob), September 18, 1830; September 15, 1898.

(17) Martha (Marshall) Lank, August 3, 1832.

Miles Marshall (4) and family moved from Tennessee to Indiana in the fall of 1814. They moved in wagons, going along what was called the Cumberland Gap route, crossing the Ohio river at Cincinnati. Six miles from Richmond, they rented a farm. In the spring of 1816, they moved to a rented farm ten miles north of Richmond and raised one crop, then moved into the Tennessee settlement in Wayne county, where they had bought a farm. Thomas Marshall (8) when ninety years old, remembered going to school in Wayne in 1817. Maben, Minerva, Calvin (Peet), Collin, Miles C. (Bob) and Martha all moved to Dallas county, Iowa, some as early as 1854. Thomas (8) married Cynthia Swain, second wife Elvira Macy (156); Maben, Charity Moore, second wife, Priscilla Coffin; Calvin, Cynthia Maulsby (235); Collin, Sarah Mills; Miles O, Martha Hill. Collin and Miles C. were soldiers, Collin dying in the army at Corinth, Miss.


74. MALINDA MAULSBY married Harvey Patty.


(382) David Syivester, August 9, 1849.

(383) Luna Rupe, June 28, 1851.

(384) Mary Frances, October 9, 1853.

Malinda Maulsby and Harvey Patty, son of Mark and Mary Patty, were married at the Maulsby home near Economy, Ind., September 27, 1848. The family lived in Huntsville, Randolph county, Ind., where Harvey was a merchant and hotel keeper. For a short time they lived on a farm near Huntsville, then moved to Winchester, keeping hotel and Harvey again taking up his work as a merchant. Harvey died at the Maulsby home near Economy. The family lived with Mary Maulsby until the old home was broken up by the removal to Iowa. Malinda and children Luna and Mary, then made their home with Matilda (Maulsby) Scott (77), but spent part of the time in Iowa. Malinda was a teacher. The old school house on AVest River is still standing, where she taught fifty years ago. When left a widow she again took up the work, teaching in Indiana and in Dallas county, Iowa; her firm “thee must” carrying with it a force sufficient to hold the most careless to his task. Many a boy and girl in school, touched by her enthusiasm, felt the first impulse to do something and to be something.

Malinda and the two younger children came to Iowa in 1866 to make their permanent home. Malinda and daughter, Mary Frances, who is a photographer, live in Adel, Iowa.


Harvey Patty brought into the home a son, Loney Patty, from a former marriage to Martha Jane Armhehl. Loney grew to manhood, was married twice. He made his home in Indiana, dying there, and leaving a widow and children.

David Sylvester Patty (382) married Elmina J. Hastings, lives at Redfield; Luna Rupe (383) married Lizzie Risser, lives in California.


Family tradition says there were three Patty brothers who came from England into New England at an early day. Two of them remained there, the other going either to North or South Carolina. It was from the brother who went into Carolina that our line of Pattys is descended. James Patty, wife Morrins and children—Mark being one of the children—moved from North Carolina into Montgomery or Miama county, Ohio, a few miles north of Dayton. They were Quakers. David W. Jones of Fort Wayne, Ind., now 81 years old, remembers seeing the family often at Quaker meeting there; also of being in their home.


Samuel , a doctor.

Lot, a doctor.

Hugh, a doctor.

Mark m. Mary Jones.

Nancy m. Josiah Hutchens, a farmer.

Rachel m. William Gregg, a farmer.

Millie ( ?) m. John Greer, a lawyer.

Samuel, Lot and Hugh moved to Kansas before the Civil War. Nancy Huchens and family made their home in Ohio. Rachel Gregg and family lived on a farm in Montgomery county, Ohio. Millie (?) Greer and family lived at Bluff town, Wells county, Ind., but later moved to Kansas.


MARK PATTY married Mary Jones, daughter of Abijah and Rachel (Harris) Jones, in Ohio.


Harvey, September 12, 1822; June 20, 1854.

Rebecca, m. Stephen Cranor; died in middle life.

Stancy m. Joshua Ballenger; died when a young woman.

Lydia died young.

Setii, ^November 19, 1830.

Davis, January 15, 1832; March 2, 1901.

Ellis, December 10, 1835; May 14, 1901.

Rachel, December 10, 1835; June 23, 1877.

Franklin died in infancy.

Irwin, June 12, 1838.

Clarkson, September 22. 1845.

Mark and Mary Patty lived on a farm in Miami county, Ohio; moved to Richmond, Ind., not far from 1835, Mark being a merchant there. Later they lived at Williamsburg, Ind., Mark being a merchant and connected with a mill. For a few years they were in a community on Cabin Creek, Randolph county; later on a farm where Mary died a few days after Clarkson’s birth. Clarkson was reared in Henry Hollingsworth’s family.

Seth Patty married Rhoda J. Swain (364), the family living on a farm near Redfield, Iowa; Davis married Sarah J. Way, making their home for the most part in Des Moines, Iowa; Ellis married Nan Stegal, family lived in Des Moines, Ellis working on the Iowa State Register for thirty years, later moved to California; Rachel married Ezra Maulsby (75), second husband B. F. Simcoke; Irvin married Louisa Kegerreis, the family living on a farm near Farmland, Ind.; Clarkson married Ellen Hanson, second wife Lana H. Rinehart. Clarkson is a minister of LT. B. church.

Mary (Jones) Patty’s parents, Abijah and Rachel (Harris) Jones were both Quaker preachers. Abijah Jones’ family were of Welsh descent. Abijah had two brothers, Daniel and Richard, who reared large families, their descendants being mostly in Indiana.


Rachel Harris, daughter of Obadiah and Rebecca (Johnson) Harris, was of French, Welsh and English blood. Abijah Jones and family moved from North Carolina to Montgomery county, Ohio, about 1800.



Rebecca m. Isaac Hutchens.

David died young.

Jemima m. Robert Jenkins.

Obadiah m. Ann Pearson.

Mary m. Mark Patty.

Daniel m. Amelia Jones.

Lydia, from the effects of an illness, could speak only in a whisper for 50 years.

James m. Mary Ann Iddings. The younger of the children were born in Ohio. All of the married children reared large families, the descendants being principally in Ohio, Indiana and Iowa.

MARK PATTY and Margaret Reece were married in 1850.


James, not living.

Thomas, lives at Parker City, Ind.

Charlie, lives in Indiana.

Infant daughter, not living.

The family lived in Winchester.

Margaret (Reece) Patty died 1887.

Mark Patty died January, 1861, in Winchester, Ind.

75. LYDIA MAULSBY married Joel P. Davis.


(385) Ida L. (Davis) Foster, November 21, 1852; December 12, 1896.

(386) Arthur, August 14, 1857.

Lydia Maulsby and Joel P. Davis, son of Amos and Mary (John) Davis, were married in Economy, Ind., March 13, 1847. They lived in Randolph county on a farm until 1855, when they moved to northern Iowa. A few years later they came to Dallas county, buying a farm adjoining John Maulsby’s (71). Joel P. Davis was by nature a reformer, being closely identified with the anti-slavery movement and the temperance cause. The family sold the farm and moved to Des Moines in 1868, Joel P. taking up insurance work, in which he was engaged for the rest of his life. Lydia, Joel P. and Ida L. (Davis) Foster (385) all died in Des Moines. Ida L. devoted the later years of her life to kindergarten work. Arthur (386) married Mable Pearson, the family living in Des Moines.



2. CALEB DAVIS2 died May 10, 1818. His wife was Margarette, who died in 1793.


3. AMOS DAVIS,3 July 28, 1779; March 24, 1856.
AMOS DAVIS and Mary John were married in Pennsylvania,

September 1, 1798.

Elisha, December 13, 1799; April 18, 1855.
Isaac, August 8, 1801; March 13, 1815.
Caleb, March 7, 1803; November 21, 1853.
Margaret, November 27, 1804; May 4, 1866.
Lauretta, August 4, 1809; August 19, 1835.


Amos, May 29, 1811; December 8, 1878.
Nathan, April 29, 1813; September 23, 1823.
George J., April 15, 1815; August 25, 1880.
Isaac J., March 7, 1817; September 14, 1887.
Job H., August 8, 1819; May 31, 1898.
Joel P., March 13, 1822; December 20, 1895.

Amos Davis was of Welsh descent and Quaker parentage. He was of powerful physique. He was known as a great anti-slavery worker, and many a fugitive slave found a friend in him. The family moved from Kentucky to Ohio, buying land in the “Clark Military Lands.” The title to this land being defective, they soon moved (in 1819) to Clinton county, Ohio, buying the farm on which the family lived until Amos’ death in 1856. Mary (John) Davis was of Welsh and German parentage. Her father Isaac John, was a Quaker, her mother a High Church communicant. Mary was a small, blue-eyed woman of great kindness of heart. She was a member of the Friends church. Her son, Job H, in 1849 paid the following tribute of respect to her memory. The lines are found in an old album in Job H.’s handwriting.

“How oft do I think of a dear, sainted, mother,

Long since in the land where the weary find rest,
It kindles my soul with a flame I can’t smother
I know she’s an angel on Abraham’s breast.

Her pious advice on my mind is engraven
As oft she did point to the “Volume of Life,”
That told of a Savior, and promised a Heaven,
Exempt from all tumult, all care and all strife.”

From reference to the John family, it will be seen that Isaac John, son of Samuel John and Ann (Jenkin) John, took a certificate for himself and wife, Lydia and children Rebecca, Samuel and Elizabeth, to Exeter Monthly Meeting, Berks county, Pa., 8-8-1772. Isaac John must have married again, as the bible of Job H. Davis at Lizton, Indiana, has a list of the following:



Jacob, 1778.

Mary, March 10, 1780; March 27, 1831; m. Amos Davis.

Ann, 1781.

Isaac, 1783.

Abraham, 1785.

Sarah, 1787.

David, 1789.

Margaret, 1791.

George, 1793.

Elizabeth, 1795.

After Mary (John) Davis’ death, Amos married .

76. EZRA MAULSBY married Rachel Patty.


(387) Ellis P., January 28, 1852.

(388) David Alonzo, November 25, 1855.

(389) Lawrence, January 1, 1859; April 26, 1888.

Ezra Maulsby and Rachel Patty, daughter of Mark and Mary (Jones) Patty, were married early in 1851, in Randolph county, Ind. Ezra was a farmer, the family living on the Maulsby home farm, where as boy and man Ezra farmed until the removal to Iowa in 1857. They made their permanent home on the farm bought on coming to Iowa, Ezra and Rachel both dying there.

Ellis P. Maulsby (387) married Clara Grow. They live in Casey, Iowa, Ellis P. being a practicing physician there. David Alonzo (388) married Agnes Longworthy. They live at Nelson, British Columbia.

After Ezra’s death Rachel (Patty) Maulsby married B. F. Simcoke. B. F. Simcoke brought into the home three children of a former marriage, to Kaney A. Macy.

Leonidas m. Matie Graham.

Willie m. Kettie Bandy.

Laura m. D. H. Miller.

These Simcoke children trace their Macy blood, Naney A.s Joseph,7 Albert,6 Joseph,6 Joseph,4 Thomas,3 John,2 Thomas.1 Rachel (Patty) Simcoke, December 10, 1835; June 23, 1877.

77. MATILDA MAULSBY married Thomas L. Scott.


(390) Mary Inez (scott) Risser, May 19, 1853.

(391) Sarah Almeda (scott) Wellborn, June 29, 1855.

(391) Istora Dell, October 9, 1857.

(392) Olene (scott) Miller, August 4, 1861.

(393) Hellene, August 4, 1861; August 11, 1861.

(394) Blanche, October 21, 1864.

(395) William Douglass, July 23, 1867.

(396) Harry Logan, September 10, 1870.

Matilda Maulsby and Thomas L. Scott, son of John and Sarah (Logan) Scott, were married August 12, 1852, at the Maulsby home, near Economy. They lived in Winchester, Ind, Thomas L. being a saddler there. He was for a time county auditor. The family had been in Iowa for a short stay in the fifties, but in September, 1866, they came for their permanent home, buying a home and business interests in Bedfield. Thomas L. Scott and Irwin Maulsby (361) formed a partnership as merchants, the firm “Scott and Maulsby” and “Maulsby and Scott” remaining the same since January 1, 1868. The sons of the early proprietors, William Douglass Scott (395) and William Maulsby, have of late years, taken the burden of the work in the store.


Thomas L. Scott’s parents were both born in Ireland. His father, John Scott, who was well educated and came to America when 19 years old, died in 1833. His mother, Sarah (Logan) Scott, who came to America when 5 years old, died in 1849.


James A., 1820; November 8, 1900.

Margaret (scott) Sayre, 1822; November 30, 1899.

William G, 1824; November 18, 1897.

Thomas L., November 15, 1826.

John H, 1828; December 6, 1886.

Daniel, 1830; 1864-5.

James, Margaret and William G. were born in Virginia, Thomas L., John II. and Daniel in Richmond, Ind. Daniel died on his way from Andersonville prison.

Only five of the fifth generation are living, William Hills (47), John H. Maulsby (60), Thomas T. Maulsby (61), Malinda (Maulsby) Patty (74) and Matilda (Maulsby) Scott (77), aged respectively 84, 76, 72, 80 and 72.

There is regret, in laying down the pen, in not being able to follow the history of the Sixth Generation. The material could be easily obtained, but the history of that great company, 319, would so enlarge the book as to defeat the plan, that it should be a handy record book for each family. The hope is that each will continue the record by adding that of his own family, and of his children’s families.


Ann’s son, John Thornburgh (36), and family moved to California in 1870, the first of our line of Maulsby’s to make a home on the Pacific coast. It took over one hundred and seventy years to cross the continent.



(390) Mary Inez (Scott) Kisser, May 19, 1853.

(391) Sarah Almeda (Scott) Wellborn, June 29, 1855.

(391) Kora Dell, October 9, 1857.

(392) Olene (Scott) Miller, August 4, 1861.

(393) Hellene, August 4, 1861; August 11, 1861.

(394) Blanche, October 21, 1864.

(395) William Douglass, July 23, 1867.

(396) Harry Logan, September 10, 1870.

Matilda Maulsbv and Thomas L. Scott, son of John and Sarah (Logan) Scott, were married August 12, 1852, at the Maulsby home, near Economy. They lived in Winchester, Ind, Thomas L. being a saddler there. He was for a time county auditor. The family had been in Iowa for a short stay in the fifties, but in September, 1866, they came for their permanent home, buying a home and business interests in Redfield. Thomas L. Scott and Irwin Maulsby (361) formed a partnership as merchants, the firm “Scott and Maulsby” and “Maulsby and Scott” remaining the same since January 1, 1868. The sons of the early proprietors, William Douglass Scott (395) and William Maulsby, have of late years, taken the burden of the work in the store.


Thomas L. Scott’s parents were both born in Ireland. His father, John Scott, who was well educated and came to America when 19 years old, died in 1833. His mother, Sarah (Logan) Scott, who Came to America when 5 years old, died in 1849.


James A., 1820; November 8, 1900.

Margaret (Scott) Sayre, 1822; November 30, 1899.

William G., 1824; November 18, 1897.

Thomas L., November 15, 1826.

John H., 1828 ; December 6, 1886.

Daniel, 1830; 1864-5.

James, Margaret and William G. were born in Virginia, Thomas L., John H. and Daniel in Richmond, Ind. Daniel died on his way from Andersonville prison.

Only five of the fifth generation are living,

William Mills (47),
John H. Maulsby (60),

Thomas T. Maulsby (61),

Malinda (Maulsby) Patty (74) and

Matilda (Maulsby) Scott (77), aged
respectively 84, 76, 72, 80 and 72.

There is regret, in laying down the pen, in not being able to follow the history of the Sixth Generation. The material could be easily obtained, but the history of that great company, 319, would so enlarge the book as to defeat the plan, that it should be a handy record book for each family. The hope is that each will continue the record by adding that of his own family, and of his children’s families.

Your kinswoman of the Seventh Generation

Maulsby Family

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s